PSX4all Increase gameplay speed

Discussion in 'Playstation 1 (PSX) Emulator (psx4iphone)' started by jaymzleon, Jan 18, 2008.

  1. jaymzleon

    jaymzleon Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    37
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (White)
    So i hope this isnt a double thread, i searched around and couldnt find one talking about this so i wanted to get it out there..

    So i was play tekkan 3 on psx4all and i just started button mashing after i got upset with the matrix like slow motion gameplay.
    and I came across a "secret" options menu.

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    When you press L2 and R2 simultaneously you will pause gameplay and bring up the "secret" menu.

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    There are 3 option menus to choose from and the exit option. to make a selection press the "O" button on your gamepad.
    So seeing as how my tiff was with the game speed, i selected the "GRAPHICS OPTIONS"

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    I scrolled down to "Interlace Count" and bumped it up to 7 by pushing the "right" arrow.

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    I exited out of the menu, and noticed my gameplay incresed from 50% to about 75%. its not perfect, but it is actually tolerable now.

    I hope this helps others, and if i find another way to increase the game speed i will edit this thread with the update.
    (Note: you will have to redo this everytime you close out of psx4all.app)

    If anyone else found an easier way, or another way of increasing gameplay/etc, post it and ill update this thread with your tips!

    -jaymzleon

    *EDIT* - So after playing with with the options i came across the "Psx Cycle" when you Hold L1 and press L2 the cycle decreases, and when you press R2 then the cycle increases. the lower the cycle, the fast the gameplay.
    byt caution, i have found that after lowering it to 1.500000 and lower the emulater tends to freeze.
    thank you to theroctee for making me aware of the other option menu.
  2. moosemun

    moosemun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice...

    The menu has been known about for awhile now, but this is a good guide none the less
    great pics

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. jaymzleon

    jaymzleon Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    37
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (White)
    haha thanks, i figured it had to of been, i just couldnt find anything about it after i found it.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. streetuner

    streetuner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats good stuff to know
  5. jaymzleon

    jaymzleon Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    37
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (White)
    every little bit helps right

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  6. theroctee

    theroctee New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    heya,
    thanks for the tip jaymzleon!
    this doesn't work for me though. when i press L2 and R2 simulataneously, "PSX clock x%" pops up and the value of x just drops as long as i hold one.
    am i doing something wrong? if so, any help would be appreciated.

    thanks to everyone on this forum. your work is highly appreciated!!!
  7. jaymzleon

    jaymzleon Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    37
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (White)
    Hey I found out what it was that you did, and thank you for pointing this out.
    you actually pushed L2 and R1 bringing up the clock. When you press L1 and L2 you begin to lower the "cycle" and when you press L1 and R2 you increase the cycle.

    Try changing you controller, it may not be very accurate?
    ill make a new thread later of what all the options do and how they possibly effect your gameplay

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. theroctee

    theroctee New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow thanks again man! you were spot on; it was the controller.
  9. Eras3r

    Eras3r New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    when i change the interlace count, i see alot of black lines, and a little bit of the game
    :S
  10. jaymzleon

    jaymzleon Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    37
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (White)
    haha no problem, glad i could help

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page