PS3 Wi-Fi or Ethernet?

Discussion in 'Console & PC Gaming' started by troublesome_killa, Jan 23, 2009.

  1. troublesome_killa

    troublesome_killa Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have a PS3 that is connected with Wi-Fi but usually it drops signal as I am killing Nazi Zombies. If I connect it to my modem with an ethernet cable will I experience this problem less?
  2. iamkewl

    iamkewl Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah it would help.


    I had my 360 over wireless and it dropped alot. So I hooked it up to ethernet.

    Almost never drops
  3. Steaps

    Steaps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,074
    Likes Received:
    41
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Possibly. It's one of those things you should try yourself. But i believe yes, it should get better, if not stop disconnecting.
    Mine does this too on WiFi.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    .
  4. troublesome_killa

    troublesome_killa Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    2
    I know its really annoying, I could be playing CoD get real into it then everything freezes and then "Server connection timed out" and im like

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    I guess ill try ethernet when I get back from work
  5. that one guy

    that one guy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    ethernet is definitely a better choice other than the extra cable that needs to be connected
  6. SeeFreaky

    SeeFreaky New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    I would think it's the Servers that are having issues. When you server time out, are you still signed into PSN? When you time out, try going into PSN store. If you can go in, it's not your network, it's their COD servers. It happens all the time with Media Molecule's servers.
  7. EssTee-

    EssTee- New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, use the Ethernet...
    Sometimes you might experience some lagging tho, depends on how far away the PS3 is from the router, if its quite far 5 meters + then it may drop from time to time, the further away it is, the crapper the connection will get...

Share This Page