problems jailbreaking with blackra1n

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by charlieeeh, Mar 26, 2010.

  1. charlieeeh

    charlieeeh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I own an iPod Touch 3g, and as you probably all know, the best/only available jailbreaking program to date is blackra1n, which offers a tethered jailbreak. blackra1n had always been good to me, until today.

    Recently my iPod's been running into plenty of hiccups (probably resulting from the 90 apps, combined with the 90mb remaining), leading me to having to jailbreak it more often than ever. Probably 3-4 times in the past week. Yeah, that's a lot.

    I've never run into problems jailbreaking before, everytime it'd run out of batteries, or hang running a program, I'd just turn it off and rejailbreak. Today, the same familiar curly-haired man greeted me, along with the "done, wait for reboot" message, but instead of my iPod rebooting after a few minutes, it just shuts off. Turning it back on, I get the USB recovery screen.

    I've done numerous restarts, both my computer and iPod. Even did a restore on my computer to a previous date. Ran as administrator, as Win2000, Win98, etc etc, all to no avail. This is the same computer that jailbroke the same iPod a couple dozen times before, so that couldn't be it either. Any answers?
  2. Bubalooshi

    Bubalooshi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    The USB Recovery Screen means you should plug it into BlackRain and run the program, I believe...

    I'd wait for more responses. I feel as if I may be answering the wrong question / problem.
  3. charlieeeh

    charlieeeh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are.

    By running it again, I'll end up back at square one.
  4. mitchell209

    mitchell209 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,024
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Pretty sure you're just going to have to restore it to 3.1.2.
  5. ripply

    ripply Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Its a 3g hell be forced on 3.1.3. Try a different pc maybe that will work
  6. mitchell209

    mitchell209 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,024
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    If he already had his iPod backed up with Cydia then he can just follow Saurik's guide to downgrade on his website.
  7. charlieeeh

    charlieeeh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isn't it possible to shift+click Restore to a "outside" copy of 3.1.2?
  8. Fenderboy

    Fenderboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I had a similar problem. Accidentally upgraded to 3.1.3. FML
  9. Jarlath

    Jarlath Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,321
    Likes Received:
    0


    Not with a 3g if it's not the 8gb model not unless his SHSH keys are backed up, due

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    to the changes at the hardware level implemented to stop jailbreaking.

Share This Page