Problem with wifi?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by mrmac, Dec 23, 2007.

  1. mrmac

    mrmac Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    9
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I have searched forever and even called Apple about this one. (didn't get through because the wait time was 70 minutes!!). When I am at school, there is a wifi network called "hpsetup". It always has full bars and is unlocked. I can never get anything to work through it though. I tried talking to the computer person at our school, and she said that we don't have wifi here. Our school is on top of a big hill so there's no place within 5 miles that could possibly have wifi. This also sometimes happens when I am other places too. When I do a search for the IP Address of it, it shows up in CALIFORNIA!! I live in West Virginia!!

    So I was wondering if this was someone kind of bug that I downloaded via the installer.

    Thanks for any help!!

    http://the-theme-team.org/
  2. simonrichards150

    simonrichards150 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    94
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I just googled it, and got this:

    http://blogs.chron.com/techblog/archives/2006/09/free_public_wif.html

    Its VERY strange reading!

    Please Register or Log in to view images




    I have been driving round london and seen 'Free Public WiFi' network appear, and when i try to connect with my ipod touch it wont let me...

    Its happened loads of times, in several different locations.

    Also, I have seen 'hpsetup' appear a couple of times, I thought it was for a wifi-enabled printer, but even if i connect i cant access anything at all. So it seems there is so much more to this than meets the eye...
  3. mrmac

    mrmac Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    9
    Device:
    iPod touch
    That is very odd. I will try to call apple again and make sure it's not a bug in my system.

    Thanks for the quick reply!!
  4. farahilyas

    farahilyas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same problem. Can anyone plzz help me. When I'm at school I get a wifi connection called hpsetup and I get all 3 bars on the top, but whenever I go online it says cannot open , server cannot connect, something like that. Plzzzzzz help me sum1
  5. Happyhow

    Happyhow New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi .. let me open by saying that I am probably:
    - 6 times older than most of you
    - the iTouch is my 1st Apple product
    - I am not at all up-to-date on wi-fi technicalities


    My WI FI experiences todate


    At HOME and at FRIENDS -- usually flawless WI FI connections to internet routers
    * The iTouch worked flawlessly when there was no password protection.
    * In some homes noone could remember their passwords.
    * Our Linksys G router works perfectly.


    OTTAWA: Flawless WI-FI IF where UNLOCKED
    * When I stop outside my kids' houses' and I pick up LOCKED and UNLOCKED networks
    * Unlocked signals allowed me to connect.
    * at the airport Boinq opened, & asked me to answer their questionnaires, and then wanted me to subsribe or shove off!

    Downtown TORONTO: Not one single site was "FREE"
    * I could nowhere find a "free" and "unlocked " wi-fi service.
    * Coffeshops, et al had wi-fi that opened on the ITouch, however
    * the "carriers" ... Bell/ Rogers / Telus /Fido ... asked for Cell Phone ID or Credit Cards
    * Internet access fees were about $10 per hour

    NEW HAMPSHIRE - Wi-Fi often advertised as free . Always FLAWLESS
    What a great part of America.
    * Selected Cafes & Inns offered travellers and their guests free Wi-Fi.
    * The iTouch worked flawlessly
    * for our first time away from home we were able to whip off Gmail, letting family members know our whereabouts
    * and there was NO $ CHARGE !
    * and IT WAS FUN using Gmail !

    Is there really a Free Wi-Fi Lunch in our Futures ?
    * The iTouch is a fabulous device
    * The ITouch is giant step forward for ultra-portable PC's.
    * Wi-Fi + free internet access is a wonderful prospect for iTouch users

    ... But ...

    * away from home, somebody else has to pay the bills !
    * let's hope more virtual and physical "outlets" come along to pay those bills.
    -- or.. we'll all be forking out more $'s to support our i-cravings.
  6. joshq00

    joshq00 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    hpsetup, i believe, is an adhoc wifi network... hence why you can't access the internet
  7. Happyhow

    Happyhow New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I should say that I have just re-sync'ed my iTouch, so I looked over the Networks the Wi-Fi receiver is reporting:

    Net 1: Default ... with 1 bar ... no padlock .. I cannot join
    Net 2: george .... with i bar ... no padlock ... I cannot join
    Net 3: Linksys .. with 3 bars ... a padlock .. this is my router & I am signed on.

    I have seen these before with ther same exclusions. Nearby neighbours are out and their normally ON Net is off.

    CONSLUSION:
    For security purposes don't use your family name to ID your home wireless !

    It shows:

    1: Default --
  8. kliph_hanga

    kliph_hanga New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi,
    i'm not sure whether i can be of any help but many hotspots especially at schools, universities use a wifi protocol that's called 802.1x. i have the same problem at my university and when i tried to solve the problem for over 3 hours my system admin told me this was the problem.this is not yet supported by the ipod touch. google it and see if anything new comes up.
    greetz, kliph...

Share This Page