Problem with redsnow

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 3.0 Jailbreak' started by budaslap, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. budaslap

    budaslap New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I have followed the very helpful tutorial here
    http://www.ifans.com/forums/showthread.php?t=203161

    All seems to work well, then at some point during the process where the ipod says "downloading jailbreak data" and the redsn0w program says "uploading ramdisk" The whole thing will stop. The program is not freezing so much as all progress seems to stop.

    My specs are
    Vista x64
    Libusb installed successfully using the tutorial for x64 users
    Ipod touch 2g with a clean install of 3.0
    itunes 8.2
    *edit*I am also runnng in xp sp2 compatability mode, and running as admin*/edit*

    Any help would be appreciated, I'm so close, and yet so very far away haha.
  2. wyndwarrior

    wyndwarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Right Click-> Run as Admin
  3. Swift

    Swift Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (White)
    Run redSn0w in compatibility for Windows XP SP2 ?
  4. budaslap

    budaslap New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I guess I should have included in my previous post that I am running in compatability mode for xp sp2 and I am running as admin. Sorry for not including that.
  5. wyndwarrior

    wyndwarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Try Run as admin first
  6. budaslap

    budaslap New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    so take it out of compatability mode?
  7. wyndwarrior

    wyndwarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Sorry, I don't know, but if it still doesn't work then try DFU+Restore.
  8. Swift

    Swift Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (White)
    Yeah.

    Simple solution would be to get a computer that isn't x64.
  9. budaslap

    budaslap New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0


    I don't think it would be simpler to run out and buy a new computer and OS(basically downgrading from a superior processor) just to jailbreak my touch thank you, only serious posts please.
  10. Swift

    Swift Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (White)
    I didn't know that the only PC you had in your household was your 16 bit one, sorry? Also, don't you have any friends with 32bit PCs? I wasn't implying at all for you to buy a brand new computer. Let's not be silly.

    Try using Virtual PC and running Windows XP on it. Basically, emulating a 32bit workstation environment.

Share This Page