problem with locate me on google maps

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 1.1.3 Discussions' started by mcgwire3, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. mcgwire3

    mcgwire3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    google maps works just fine except for the fact when I click on locate me it takes me to jacksonville florida, and it's just weird, I don't even live close to there, any suggestions or help is welcome
  2. inpala

    inpala New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    At least your getting something, when I try to do it, it says unable to find location.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. aLLeYRaT

    aLLeYRaT New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    2
    mine works fine...your problem sounds absurd
  4. iatealitlebabie

    iatealitlebabie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    1
    well that sh*t is locating me lol
  5. yanks111890

    yanks111890 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    36
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    yea i live about 1500 miles from where mine puts me...apparently im located in the middle of kansas...boy is that news to me lol

    Edit: tried at a friends and it works so the problem is all in the router

    hopefully somebody can helpo us fix this
  6. cantcatchme939

    cantcatchme939 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Can you set your address in your router? Because my friend used to live in about 20 miles away from where he does now and when I do locate me at his house it circles where he used to live not where he does now. So maybe you have to change the address if you moved or something?
  7. Elric

    Elric New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    10
    Has anyone solved this yet? My locate me just finally started to work but it puts me 30 minutes east of where I really am.
  8. BigDaveyJ

    BigDaveyJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,751
    Likes Received:
    23
    Device:
    iPod touch
    it does it based on the ip address you use in your wifi router. it will never be perfectly accurate. it is for me at my dads tho.
  9. iPodTouchEdwards

    iPodTouchEdwards New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    23
    mine doesnt work either it just says unable to find location too

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. Samy

    Samy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    tried it in Germany on a public T-Mobile HotSpot .... DOES NOT work!

Share This Page