Problem: The sim card inserted in this iPhone does not appear to be supported

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by benbeni89, Jul 5, 2009.

  1. benbeni89

    benbeni89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Hi!

    I bought an iPhone 3GS from USA for 1 week.
    It is locked, and I've only used it as an iPod.

    Yesterday I was trying to jailbreake it.
    It ended up that I had to restore it.

    When it was finished to install there was only a photo, and I can only call the emergency number.

    I have tried to restore it several times, but without any solution.
    Had also jailbreaked it, but I can not get into the homescreen.

    I get this message in iTunes: "The sim card inserted in this iPhone does not appear to be supported".



    So I wonder if there are any solutions to this problem?

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Thanks!!

    Attached Files:

  2. geekgrrl

    geekgrrl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    It is my understanding, the iPhone sold in USA bandwidth may accomodate only one other carrier: T-Mobile.

    I do not believe it was particularly intentional, only it happens to be in that zone on the bandwidth.

    Maybe, inserting a friend's sim will clear it.

    That, or a restore.
  3. willdacracka

    willdacracka Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone
    When you jailbreak you're supposed to check Unlock. I haven't done this 3GS jailbreak, so idk what it consists of.
  4. benbeni89

    benbeni89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Hmm..
    I have tried another sim card without that help.
    I have restored several times..

    I cant get into the phone..

    Please Register or Log in to view images





    No one else who has had this problem and have it fixed?
  5. Alok

    Alok New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Are you using an AT&T SIM or...?
  6. benbeni89

    benbeni89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Nope. I live in Norway and use a Telenor-sim..
  7. davdkh

    davdkh New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Hi, I come from Denmark and I would like to buy and iPhone 3gs from USA like you did, how to do you buy it? - and where? - and for how much?

    and how to you use it as a ipod if you bought it without at&t contract? (didn't you need to activate?)

    (Sorry if it's off-topic, I just can't find answers to these questions...)
  8. germ

    germ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    maybe try using an ATT sim card from the US to get "in" the phone, use wifi to get into Cydia and download Ultrasnow?
  9. Alok

    Alok New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Borrow a friend's AT&T sim, use it to activate thru iTunes, then jb then unlock
  10. germ

    germ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    the ATT sim doesnt need to be an active one, he just needs an ATT sim card.

    the one i have is brand new and was never activated via ATT. i use it to get "in" the phone (after it was jailbroke), turn on wifi, download Ultrasnow, and then put in my tmobile sim and its worked fine.

Share This Page