Problem on generation of ipod touch 8GB

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by ky92, Dec 27, 2009.

  1. ky92

    ky92 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    i have just purchased my first ipod touch 8GB with OS version 3.1.2 . and i have a problem on its generation. It got a part no. started with MC, and there is a Voice memo application. There are two lines on the back of the ipod touch. So i think it is 3rd generation.

    but some of my friends said there is no 3G with 8GB.
    i followed the steps of jailbreaking which i found from google, it requires me to run the restore program(iPod2,1_3.1.2_7D11_Restore.ipsw) before running blackrain. and i found that i could only use the restore program for 2nd Generation.

    So, i am really confused on the generation of my ipod touch

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    please help!
  2. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    It's a 3rd gen. MC = 3G, MB = 2G, MA = 1G. But 8gb 3G models are the exact same as the 8gb 2G model, except it has the new bootrom. So I guess your friends don't call it a 3G because it was updated like the 32/64gb 3G models, but still is a 3G.
  3. SpeedyApocalypse

    SpeedyApocalypse Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    To jailbreak that iPod, (the 8gb 3g), you need the RC2 blackra1n and not 1 or 3. I ran into a big problem with that today and the iPod had looked like it wasn't going to work (white screen and not turning on) because I used RC1 and not RC2.
  4. ky92

    ky92 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    thank you!
    so i cant run the restore program(for 3G) because the hardware is actually 2G?
  5. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    RC3 should work as well.
  6. SpeedyApocalypse

    SpeedyApocalypse Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Okay, what I was reading said that the RC2 was the only one that worked.
  7. ky92

    ky92 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    i used RC3
    and i dont have any WIFI right now so i cant download the Cydia package and the jailbreak is not complete(i guess)
    but there is no big problem yet

    anyway what is the Cydia package?
    is it necessary to install it?
  8. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    Well, RC2 was the first version of blackra1n that was able to jailbreak 8gb 3G models.
  9. Theodosius

    Theodosius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,071
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPad 3
    Cydia is really the only main reason most jailbreak. But you could use Cyder..

Share This Page