[problem] iphone stuck in recovery mode.

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by robbiep, Jul 8, 2008.

  1. robbiep

    robbiep New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Hi all, i just got my 32gb iPod Touch today and i used my macbook with the 'pwnage tool' on osx.
    I think i may of stuffed up the ipsw builder, because my itunes froze trying to 'restore' the firmware.
    So now, now it's stuck in recovery mode, and i've literally tried all the steps i could find on the forum and on the apple docs! I've even tried using 3rd party tools such as ibricker. Yet to no avail i can't get it to work again, or restore back to normal.

    [edit]
    Oh yeah, just before i forget, when ever i try to restore version 1.1.4 firmware to my ipod touch in windows, i get a error code 6. When restoring on osx, i get an error code 1604.

    Just to make sure, i've done these steps:

    -restarted pc
    -re installed itunes
    -forced 'recovery mode' or 'dfu' mode and tried a restore/downgrade
    -redownloaded the ipsw restore files from apple (and for the ipod touch not the iphone)
    -i've tried restoreing the software on multiple pc's (all with the latest itunes of course)

    That's all i can think of at the moment but i have probly done some more to try and fix it.
    But what do you all think, is there anything else you can suggest to fix it, or should i just return it for warranty??
  2. P0150N0U5 F15)-(

    P0150N0U5 F15)-( Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    7
    Try it on loads of computers, ive heard of people trying it on ten, then getting it to work. After that, ask apple, and say you tried to restore because mail kept on crashing or something...
  3. robbiep

    robbiep New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Thanks, but i only have access to 2 computers. And i think i've spent about 30 mins on each trying to restore but no luck

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    Looks like i might have to go return it i guess.
  4. jimbeam

    jimbeam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Unplug everything from the USB ports and restart the computer. Now just plug in the ipod connector. Then restore to a stock 1.1.4 and try again.

    That usually fixes that error for me on my mac.
  5. robbiep

    robbiep New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Just gave it a shot then, but yet again, didn't help. gave me the same 1604 error code..

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  6. jimbeam

    jimbeam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)

    Odd? I get this same error from time to time. Its usually an easy fix. Have you tried ziphone to boot it in regular mode or DFU. I usually don't recommend ziphone but that is one useful feature. Then try the restore again.

    I will dig around and see what else I can find.
  7. mlbplayer456

    mlbplayer456 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    6
    that error code can be solved my a simple computer restart
  8. brisingr

    brisingr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    put it in dfu
  9. jimbeam

    jimbeam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Try this. 1604 is a problem with some framework file apparently.

    In iLiberty+, under the 'Other Tools' tab, select 'Enter DFU Mode
  10. robbiep

    robbiep New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Just tried it, and i got the same 1604 error. Oh and i can't get 'normal mode'. As soon as the ipod starts, it goes to recovery mode.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    I've done that multiple times, on both machines. Sorry mate, you should have read my first post more properly

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    As above mate, i've stated in my first post i've tried it in dfu (and i've done it properly, i've read multiple guides on it).
    And yes, it had a black screen, i did the dfu mode properly (just to make sure).

    I have also done this, but yet it did not help me. I got the same effect.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page