Probem Setting Permissions

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by TomErritt, May 24, 2008.

  1. TomErritt

    TomErritt New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey,

    Ive been trying to set the permissions for a number of applications and i keep on getting this error, id appreciate it if anyone could help me.

    Command 'chmod 0755 "Default.png"'
    failed with return code 1 and error message
    chmod: Default.png: Operation not permitted.

    I select all the files i want to change permissions of, i go to properties and i change the number to what i need it to be (in this case 755) and the error comes up every time.

    Thanks
  2. qbal1

    qbal1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    it looks as though ur not logged in under root...
  3. TomErritt

    TomErritt New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im pretty sure im logged in under root,

    as in with the password alpine?
  4. meloyo

    meloyo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    14
    i cant save my permissions
    can anyone help???
  5. qbal1

    qbal1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    are you using terminal or SSH?
  6. TomErritt

    TomErritt New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im using SSH

    On WinSCP
  7. qbal1

    qbal1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    and you logged in using root? wow I'm stumped.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. TomErritt

    TomErritt New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, its really weird

    So no one knows what the error means?
  9. jamil_d

    jamil_d Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    SSH, not FTP. I get that error when I use pure-ftpd

    So you're using SSH?

    Oh, and if it doesn't work, just use Terminal inside the iPod
  10. TomErritt

    TomErritt New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im just using WinSCP,

    But i can try other methods if there are other ways of doing it.

Share This Page