Possible to downgrade 4.0.2 > 3.1.2 without blogs!?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Anjum, Sep 12, 2010.

1. Anjum

Anjum New Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Hey guys!
    I made a thread before but that didnt help is there any way to downgrade from 4.0.2 to 3.1.2, I don't know what blogs are can someone exain to me what tgey are is there any way skmeonw can give me blogs to downgard please explain me any way i can do this i would greatly apreciate it!!
    Im a noob at this please dont mind the questions i need help!!
    Thank you
  2. jotokun

jotokun Active Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Unfortenetly if you dont have them, you cant downgrade. Simple as that.

What they are, is basically a code that apple gives out that tells a device they can run a certian firmware. ONLY Apple can give these out, because they're specific to a device so you cant use somebody else's. Once apple stops giving them out for a firmware, you cant ever get them for that firmware.

So for example, say 4.0 comes out. Apple stops giving out 3.1.3 SHSH and starts giving out 4.0 ones. Then 4.0.1 comes out and they stop giving out 4.0, start giving out 4.0.1. This is to stop people from downgrading, because if Apple cant allow the firmware, the ipod/iphone will refuse it.

You can back up your SHSH either through Cydia (Tell it to "Make my life easier" when it asks) or Umbrella. There's a tutorial somewhere here that'll show you how to downgrade if you do have the SHSH blobs.
  3. Antonpup

Antonpup Member

Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Can't you just go into DFU mode and restore... I just did that a few hours back with my iPod 2G.
  4. Anjum

Anjum New Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I understand but i remember i could put in like an address into a file named host and i could downgrade from 4.0 to 3.1.2?
    Is there an address for 4.0.2?
    I hope u guys okay kno what im talking about
  5. jotokun

jotokun Active Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch