Possible to Activate iPod Touch like iPhone with firmware 1.1.3?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 1.1.3 Discussions' started by donkeychill, Feb 5, 2008.

  1. donkeychill

    donkeychill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Maybe possible since it shows: not activated yet. There might be a way for this to be activated by a service provider and use it like a iPhone. You can talk with a microphone, it's a pretty good idea but Im not sure if its going to happen. Any ideas?
  2. jfb392

    jfb392 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    21
    Device:
    iPod touch
    No, this is just remnants of lockdownd from iPhone, which controls activation.
    The iPod's SpringBoard doesn't call lockdownd like the iPhone's.
  3. Danls92

    Danls92 Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    209
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Activation involves a SIM card, which an iPod Touch doesn't have.
  4. sfgiantswings09

    sfgiantswings09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    yup...........
  5. xM45x

    xM45x New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    3
    yea so true
  6. Paintball

    Paintball New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    7
    Plus the iPod doesn't have any of the hardware needed for calls. Mainly an antenna, but it is still missing a few other parts. The modem and what not.
  7. GarnetNGold

    GarnetNGold Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,846
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    The Touch and iPhone's hardware are different and you need a SIM card. Also why not just use SiP-VOIP

Share This Page