Possible bug: Unable to clear cache in safari

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 3.0' started by EdmontonFireRadio, Jun 18, 2009.

  1. EdmontonFireRadio

    EdmontonFireRadio Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I have noticed that I am unable to clear the cache or history in the safari browser. Not that it's a big deal, but believe this may be a bug in the new firmware.
  2. Axis

    Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,288
    Likes Received:
    133
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    I don't think it is firmware related; I have successfully cleared my History, Cookies, and cache twice now.
  3. Edin.

    Edin. New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I'm having the same issue as you. I must clear my cache and history, if you must know...
  4. TimmyUK

    TimmyUK New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Clearing the history/cache also works on my Ipod Touch 2G
  5. Axis

    Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,288
    Likes Received:
    133
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Did you and the OP restore from a backup?
  6. StaticFX

    StaticFX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    it works fine... restore again, but choose NO BACKUP & NEW IPOD after...

    it seems all these little issues happen when updating and restoring a backup
  7. EdmontonFireRadio

    EdmontonFireRadio Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I believe I figured out what the problem was. I was clearing the cache, however when I would go back into the app I would still be able to go back to each page that was visited even though nothing was showing in the history. However after doing a force shutdown (holding down the power button until the slider appears, then holding down the home key until Safari closes) solved the issue.

    This was a case of operator error and not a fault with the firmware. Thanks for all of the replies.

Share This Page