Please Help: MacBook and Promotion Questions

Discussion in 'Mac & OS X' started by Rayzilla, Sep 2, 2010.

1. Rayzilla

Rayzilla New Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Hello fellow Apple fans,

Let me start off by saying that I am not a techie so I would appreciate any help or advice on this decision.

Brief background: I have a 3G iPod Touch. My wife likes the games in it over those in her BB, so now she would like one too. My eyes light up because that means it gives me the 'green light' to look for a Mac laptop which I have been wanting to try out.

Please Register or Log in to view images

Any time you get this kind of clearance from your significant other to spend on gadgets, you have to move fast before she changes her mind.

Plus our daughters will probably be forced to use Mac laptops at their school in a couple of years so it might be good idea for us to get used to their system.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------

Here's my questions:

1) Is this promotion (buy a Mac and get a 2G 8g Touch free) worth it? Or is there another better time of the year to buy a laptop where the discounts are even better than this? Then I would just buy a used Touch for my wife.

2) So if I do go for it, I have the option of the MacBook Pro or the MacBook Air. Is the difference mainly just the size and weight? I would probably lean towards the basic of each model.

3) I am living in Hong Kong now but I will be traveling back to Toronto for business at the end of September. I can either order it here or I have friends and family in Toronto that can order it for me there. Is it the same computer in either case? I would much prefer the English version if there is a difference since I can't read any Chinese. Where should I buy from?

If there is anything else that you need to know to help me out, please let me know.

Much appreciated!

Cheers,
    Raymond
  2. ChrisL

ChrisL Well-Known Member

1) This is the best time to pick a Mac up.