Please help...itouch 2g bricked :(

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by trixster67, Aug 28, 2009.

  1. trixster67

    trixster67 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I have my daughters itouch 2g with 2.2.1 installed.. its stuck in recovery mode..i put it in dfu mode and do restore ( also shift click find software restore) it goes along fine i see a apple logo and a status bar fills up the in just stays there in waiting for ipod for hours.. i have tried different computers etc.. all the things i have read..nothing worked.. i read someplace that i need to fix the nvram but cant find a program that will work ziphone 3.0 i think is too old it dont find the itouch ..if you can help in anyway i would be 4ever in your debt thank you
  2. CAxJESTER11

    CAxJESTER11 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Well since the DFU mode and shift restore didn't work, I think you should take it to an apple store and see if they can fix it and if they can't, they will give you a refurbished one
  3. Ranko95

    Ranko95 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    are you jailbroken? if not send it in. Also I wouldn't use the term "brick" here
  4. trixster67

    trixster67 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    yes its JB .. and all that was done was plugged into computer to recharge and this happend..
  5. CAxJESTER11

    CAxJESTER11 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Well jailbreaking voids your warranty
  6. Ranko95

    Ranko95 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    rejailbreak? Maybe you didn't wait until it was completely done to unplug it?
  7. trixster67

    trixster67 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    i have tried rejailbreaking it and made custom firmware.. etc and still it gets to full bar on restore mode and just stays there.. and how this happened it was already JB and it was just recharging.. it was JB back in jan this thing is 8 months old
  8. iBoss™

    iBoss™ Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    If you said the restore bar filled up and hang there, all of the jailbreak data should be gone.

    Take it to an Apple Store.
    Theres no risk in trying, the worst thats gonna happen is that they wont fix it..
    Its not like theyre going to arrest you.

    ... Worth a try.

    ------------------
    iAppleCentral®

    EDIT: Also, I bet you jailbroke with QuickFreedom right? Well DONT! It SUCKS! Use redsn0w 0.3, or upgrade to 3.0 (legally, its so worth it!), and then use redsn0w 0.8
  9. trixster67

    trixster67 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    can't upgrade to 3.0 that option isn't available till its restored, and i would except the JB boot logo keeps showing up then connect to itunes logo after. if that boot logo wasnt there sure i would take it in
  10. iBoss™

    iBoss™ Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    You said you see the connect to iTunes screen.

    From that screen, put it into DFU Mode.
    You know youre in DFU Mode when the screen is black.

    When you see the connect to iTunes screen, plug it in, and do this:
    Hold home & power for 10 seconds (until it goes black)
    After it goes black, wait 1 second then release the power button and keep holding home.
    Keep holding home until you hear a beep on your computer.

    When you hear the beep, open iTunes and try a regular restore by pressing the restore button. Dont shift+click restore to an illegal downloaded firmware.

Share This Page