Playing iPod through amp

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by wrg, Oct 3, 2009.

  1. wrg

    wrg New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Hi all, I am a newbie here and I need some help please.
    I have just purchased the 3rd gen iPod 32gb. I have an iPod lead that connects to my amp. When I plug my iPod in I have to turn the amp up to full to get reasonable sound (and the bass distorts the music) and the iPod still plays through it own speaker. I know it is not a problem with the lead as I have a sony mp3 player that plays ok and I do not have to turn the amp up full. It is a sony amp.

    Any help would be greatley appreciated.

    thanks

    wrg
  2. daconcerror

    daconcerror Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    what type of amp is it?
  3. wrg

    wrg New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Hi

    It is a Sony STR-DE497P. It has the following inputs, V1,V2,DVD,Tape and tuner. I connect the iPod to V1. Thanks for your repsonse
  4. Crushader

    Crushader New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Luckily mine came with a ipod dock and SRT input
  5. wrg

    wrg New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Unluckily mine did not. Should see if I can buy one i suppose
  6. daconcerror

    daconcerror Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    hmmm, i would say to buy a small pre-amp/power amp and run the ipod through that into the amp. Thats the only way i can see this working.
  7. 4NewHop3

    4NewHop3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,443
    Likes Received:
    703
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    for a second I thought you were talking about guitar amps 0.0
  8. SilentDeath1226

    SilentDeath1226 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Omg I thought the SAME damn thing.
  9. wrg

    wrg New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Sorry I did not make it clearer.
  10. ZhiZhi778

    ZhiZhi778 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    for ipods:
    turn up the volume to 100% before connecting to mixers/amps - only this way the volume can be controlled right using the amp/mixer

    btw. what for a lead do you own? perhaps a pic? because usually the internal speaker of the ipod should disable itself when connecting a cord

Share This Page