PC: RTS emulator

Discussion in 'iOS Emulators' started by stekkerbox, Jan 11, 2008.

1. stekkerbox

stekkerbox New Member

since i have installed red alert one on the psx4all i have been wondering myself.. woudnt it be sweet to have a rts emulator on the ipod? not a rts that you can play using the buttons of a gaming console but just with the touchscreen? red alert plays on the playstation quite well in my opinion so woudnt it be possible to port it to the touch plus similair games like mayby dune or the first c&c games? i am by no means a programmar so i here by apoligise for if it is a retarded question, and sorry for my poor spelling as well.
  2. Hazed

Hazed Retired Moderator

Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Not sure how well you would be able to micromanage using the touch screen, hehe.

Thought I doubt that a generic "PC: RTS" emulator could be made. Since they all run on different engines, there would be nothing to base it on. Not to mention they are made for the PC, and the iPod is essentially a Mac.

ScummVM essentially did the same thing for point and clicks (Eventually integrated support for lots of different point and click engines), however the ScummVM project has been going for years!
  3. stekkerbox

stekkerbox New Member

Thats a pity then

Please Register or Log in to view images

woudnt be possible to release those games without an emu? if someone wants to do it that is.
  4. Mindfield

Mindfield New Member

That person would either need the source code to port it and modify it to work on the Touch, or remake it completely from scratch. The former is not possible since the source code is not publicly available, and the latter would take a considerable amount of time to get it working as well as the original.
  5. stekkerbox

stekkerbox New Member

ow ok i see.. funny how ea has released command and conquer as freeware while still keeping the source code for themselfes :s

btw here are some open source rts-games