Overclocking you ipad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Jimboo, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. Jimboo

    Jimboo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPad
    Since you've gotten ur iPad, I'm sure that you have been wondering if you can overclock it? Well even if you weren't,I was and I found out how

    First ur iPad must be jail broken(I suggest spirit jailbreak, google it)

    Then once u have cydia installed on ur device, go over to search and look up "iFile" and install it

    Once installed, go to ur apps and open it up.( I would click on the 2x in the bottom corner to enlarge it because the iPad is being emulated as an iPhone app, or just install Fullforce tweak )

    Now here is where you must must must not screw up unless you want to f up ur iPad(I'm not reel sure though, just be cautious)

    Go to system/library/systemconfiguation/powermangment.bundle

    Once there look for the file name "com.apple.SystemPowerProfileDefaults.plist"

    You then need to change it and make it say "SystemPowerProfileDefaultsBACKUP.plist"

    Note:BACKUP must be in all caps

    Suggestion: just copy the file name from this post

    Once the name is changed, press done on the keyboard and press the home button

    Turn off and reboot, and ur iPad is overclocked...the speed in which it works now I am not sure of

    Enjoy
  2. Ari.

    Ari. Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,347
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPad
    Any proof this works?
  3. Jimboo

    Jimboo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPad
    Not as of yet, ive done it on and off a few times, and I believe I see a slight difference in speed for the good with the file name change, but then again, it just might be my high hopes

    As soon as I have concrete evidence, I'll be sure to post it(I'm hoping that that will be sometime tonight)
  4. jmwerkus

    jmwerkus Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    it doesn't need to be in all caps, i could put jmwerkus insteadof backup and it would still overclock it.
  5. Jimboo

    Jimboo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPad
    It is a lot easier to find things in all caps and change them if you wanted to go back to the old speed, that's the reason for the caps
  6. Ari.

    Ari. Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,347
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPad
    How can u overclock why changing file name? when no one can do this on iPhone :s
  7. jmwerkus

    jmwerkus Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    I'm just saying that it doesn't matter what you do with it, I coulod delete it if I wanted and It would still overclock.
  8. Jimboo

    Jimboo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPad
    Ps. I'm no genius with jail broken devices, I've only just began fiddling around, so if I'm wrong in anything that I've said, let me kno and I'll edit, but I'm pretty sure that all that I have said is up to par
  9. jmwerkus

    jmwerkus Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    It works on iPhone too.
  10. Jimboo

    Jimboo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPad
    U can do this on the iPhone, this is where the idea came from

Share This Page