Overclocking iphone or ipod touch for

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X Jailbreak' started by csnplt, Sep 17, 2008.

  1. csnplt

    csnplt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I have tried to overclock my ipod touch 2.1 firmware using sysctl -w hw.cpufrequency=533000000 in terminal. However, I always get this message back:
    oid hw.cpufrequency is read-only. How could I make this writable so as to overclock my ipod touch.

    For those of you who say I'm crazy, I'm only going to go up to 533 mhz or so, and I don't care about battery life. I just want to be able to overclock my ipod touch to get better performance in , and other applications.
  2. Steaps

    Steaps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,074
    Likes Received:
    41
    Device:
    iPod touch
    They probably have the feature overclocking blocked out...
  3. thechungster

    thechungster Super Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,886
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Just to warn you, it might overheat. Battery life WILL go down, but theres a certain risk.
  4. Gitykins

    Gitykins Banned

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,760
    Likes Received:
    1
    Login as root?
  5. ubunix

    ubunix Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Dont try it, You will most likely fry the arm processer, maybe if you dismatled it and have a cooling fan...maybe
  6. ThatGEEKFreak

    ThatGEEKFreak Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPad 3
    If you figure it out you will be made famous on this forum.... no really.
  7. Cyanidepoison

    Cyanidepoison Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    2
    sysctl is not something new, nor exclusive to Apple's devices.
  8. vinc32

    vinc32 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    year, i made it

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    but it was very strange... I used the firmware of the 2gen ipod... unpacked it, looked for differences and then i looked at the only 2 main files that are different... i erased the blocker and used the old firmware name 1.1.3 in all files and for the package.
    than i used an old version of itunes and set up my ipod into recovery mode... and used the own made image to back it up... and it worked... terminal showing 530000000

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    cpufrequency...

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  9. clubtech

    clubtech New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hi There,

    So i guess you were able to do this on the touch, is it possible to do this on the iPhone as well?
    Can you send us some instructions for iPhone 3G?

    Thanks!
  10. jeffhuys

    jeffhuys New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow

    Sorry to bump this, guys. But hey, how did you do that?
    I REALLY want to know!
    1G ipod here

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Greetz,

    Jeff

Share This Page