OSx86 - worth it?

Discussion in 'Mac & OS X' started by Whosthatrandom, Mar 7, 2008.

  1. Whosthatrandom

    Whosthatrandom New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm considering installing either OSx86 or Ubuntu, simply for the hell of it, and also because it seems silly to embrace jailbreaking and the like, yet only be running stupid Windows Vista.

    My question is; does OSx86 work anywhere near as well as the real thing? Or would it be better to install an OS that is designed to run on a non-Mac PC, such as Ubuntu Linux? Let's put aside the legal issues; the only reason that people download *******s of OSX for PC is that there is no other feasible way of getting a working disk image.
  2. Vision_Again

    Vision_Again New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,973
    Likes Received:
    110
    Device:
    iPad
    Its worth it, but its hard i got it burned on a disc but I dont know where to go from there I know bootoptions>etc, but idk how to set up.
  3. Whosthatrandom

    Whosthatrandom New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    4
    I think the basic idea is to follow tutorials, and look up things you understand..
  4. dude19

    dude19 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    4
    can i place the kalyway iso on my ipod videos hdd and then boot up from that becasue that would simplify everything cause my computer doesnt have a dvd burn only a player? anyone know if its possible my computer only supports sse2 btw.
  5. Cyanidepoison

    Cyanidepoison Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    2
    OSx86 is a very fun thing to do. The best possible way to go about using OSx86 would be to build a computer designed from the ground up to work with Leopard. You know, dual core with SSE3 instructions, specially picked motherboard, specially picked video card.

    Getting it to work on your current system is a gamble. I've gotten Tiger working fine, but Leopard keeps giving me the b0 error when I boot even if I change it to boot partition.

    Eh, sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't.
  6. Whosthatrandom

    Whosthatrandom New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hmmm... well... perhaps I won't try it just yet... especially considering I have a slightly obscure brand of laptop...
  7. Pezmaster1

    Pezmaster1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    could i get leopard on my
    hp pavillion d9000

    i think is a d9000

    it has the designer lines on it ect

    i realy wonna dual boot this.
  8. drkassassin

    drkassassin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    ive been trying really hard to get it on a dv6000 do u have intel or amd...if u have intel there is one thats supposed to work with 9000 intels
  9. evel_king

    evel_king New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    2
    The problem with OSx86 is that if u wanna keep Windows, its hard to find a bootloader. And its hard to find the ******* without encountering porn or viruses. And then once u have it installed, it can be pretty bugged up. Also, u need to make sure u have an SSE2 or SSE3 CPU, or it won't work. I want to get this done, but it's a long process.
  10. Pezmaster1

    Pezmaster1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    mines an amd

    ive heard theres something different with amd.

Share This Page