OS help

Discussion in 'Computing, Science, and Technology' started by imnouser, Nov 3, 2009.

  1. imnouser

    imnouser Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    hi, i jst want to know what would be required of me to do if i were to buy snow leopard and i wanted to install it onto a windows computer, its an old windows com i was gonna destroy so i may aswell try a new os.
    i also might just download a previous apple OS that apple have for download for free from their website.
  2. pwnthe2G

    pwnthe2G Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    snow leapord will not just 'run' once you put in the CD. you have to figure out many factors, and it still may not work. Firstly, whats your computers specs? like processor speed, RAM, etc..
  3. imnouser

    imnouser Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    like i said before its REALLY old and slow. i has about an 8 gb hdd and i forget the RAM but it wouldnt be anymore than a couple of mbs, if its gonna b too slow (which it probs will b) can u suggest any other OS's??
  4. LssThanThree

    LssThanThree Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
  5. bobby681

    bobby681 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    XP at the most on the Windows front
    You could stick linux on it but I dunno how well it would run on a computer like that
  6. _JKK_

    _JKK_ Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    Damn Small Linux (DSL)

    Google 'Damn Small Linux.'
  7. Bubalooshi

    Bubalooshi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    If it has a 8GB hard drive, I'm guessing it's really old.

    Forget it, I doubt it is able to.
    If you're really wondering, post the specs of the PC and we'll let you know.
  8. Gershmer

    Gershmer Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch

    This. Only needs 8MB RAM.
  9. imnouser

    imnouser Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    idk alot about linux but isnt it sorta jst a command line or something??
    i'll post the exact specs later coz its up in the garage atm

Share This Page