openssh 1.1.4 doesn't show?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 1.1.4 Discussions' started by llol_slim, Mar 2, 2008.

  1. llol_slim

    llol_slim New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    openssh 1.1.4 doesn't show? [RESOLVED]

    I am using an iPhone, but I often get better response from you guys than iPhone forums.

    I have a fresh restore of 1.1.4 then used ziphone to jailbreak unlock and activate.

    I installed BSD subsystem then openssh but it doesnt show. I tried using winscp anyway with the correct ip but it times out (even given the extra 30-35 seconds on initial connect)

    I dont know what else to try now, so any response greatly appreciated.

    thanks

    EDIT : Ok, fixed, I was typing in the username and password in the connection box, leaving it blank and letting it connect FIRST, then waiting for winscp to ask me for usename and password works perfectly as long as the screen is not locked.
  2. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Install an app called Services. That will allow you to turn SSH, as well as other Wireless and networking, functions of your iPhone.
  3. jfb392

    jfb392 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    21
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Services doesn't work very well with the new OpenSSH version; you can turn it off fine, but turning it back on requires a reboot.
    BossPrefs works fine though.
  4. llol_slim

    llol_slim New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive installed bossprefs but its still timing out.
    must be something else wrong somewhere

    (ping doesnt work either)
  5. jfb392

    jfb392 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    21
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Does it connect to the host at all, or does it just search?
    If if doesn't even find a host, your local Wi-Fi address may have changed.
  6. llol_slim

    llol_slim New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    well the "session" window just goes white and doesnt do anything, until it says timed out.

    I have checked the IP address is correct... checked firewall settings and also tried firewall switched off

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. jfb392

    jfb392 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    21
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Try rebooting your phone fully and then connect again, but just try leaving it.
    Sometimes it takes a lot longer than 35 seconds.
  8. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Remember the correct Port is 22 and you have to be using SFTP, not regular FTP.
  9. llol_slim

    llol_slim New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks both, ive checked the sftp and port 22 are correct. I set the timeout to 59 seconds as it was 15 but it doesnt seem to make a difference, it just timesout and asks if i want to reconnect (same happens).
    However, even though I set the timeout to 59 seconds it seems to wait 15 only, maybe this is my problem?

    I will try to workout how to make winscp to wait longer
  10. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Try CuteFTP Pro. I think WinSCP has stopped working for a LOT of people ever since 1.1.3

Share This Page