Old school graffiti artist to digital artist.

Discussion in 'Graphics, Design, and Photography' started by jimbeam, Apr 28, 2010.

1. jimbeam

jimbeam Active Member

Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    I suck at PhotoShop and Gimp. I can edit photos and do basic stuff, but when it comes to doing anything artistic with them I just can't make it happen. I'm an old school graffiti artist. I am very good with spray paint, any paint really, markers, pencils, pens, but when it comes to any digital art tools I just can't get it going. I don't want to pay for school to learn this stuff because I'm not planning on making a carrier out of it. I do it as a hobby. But I really want to make the switch to digital/Graphic art. I can't do graffiti anymore because if I get caught again it's not going to be good and I don't have a wall in my house I get just go to work on. I also don't have room for a good canvas setup, so I'm left with a sketchbook, markers and pencils. I want to do more then paper stuff but I don't have a good outlet anymore.

I'm thinking a graphics tablet and the right software would do the trick. Anybody know of a good (cheap) tablet with software even a complete noob like myself can figure out?
  2. Meikura

Meikura Super Moderator Staff Member

Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Graphics tablets are very hard to use in the beginning, absolutely nothing like actual drawing with a pen.
  3. jimbeam

jimbeam Active Member

Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    My dad bought one when I was in high school (90's) and it sucked. I was hoping maybe they got better since then. I could use it, but it never felt natural. Like there was a huge separation between you and what you were doing.
  4. Meikura

Meikura Super Moderator Staff Member

Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I've never managed to find a graphics tablet I've been comfortable with, but I love the trackpad on my MacBook. Which is interesting, since most people hate using laptop trackpads