Official SDK on a Hackintosh

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by DomMaiocchi, May 8, 2009.

?

Can Apple detect apps made on a hackintosh?

  1. Yes

    1 vote(s)
    5.6%
  2. No

    17 vote(s)
    94.4%
  1. DomMaiocchi

    DomMaiocchi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Is there any way for Apple to tell if "someone" developed App Store apps using a hackintosh?
  2. ZunePod

    ZunePod Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    I'm saying no, as I highly doubt that they took the time to code this in, they'd make more money with losing a sale of a mac but a really successful app coming out of that, then they would vice-versa
  3. DomMaiocchi

    DomMaiocchi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    That's what I was thinking, Thanks! (I don't want to get owned by Apple)
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    By the way, how is you Steam application for the iPod going?
  4. ZunePod

    ZunePod Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Oh, I contacted Valve and they haven't responded, I need their assistance to make it.
  5. DomMaiocchi

    DomMaiocchi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    If you're interested in discussing it, PM me. Send me your AIM screen name if you have one.
  6. centroid

    centroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    Not sure actually I have never submitted anything as of yet. I am developing on one so once i do submit I'll post if something goes wrong. Hopefully they don't care/know.
  7. DomMaiocchi

    DomMaiocchi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I already had one application accepted built on my hackintosh I was just wondering if Apple can even tell. What application are you making?
  8. AZSupra

    AZSupra New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    DomMaiocchi, Just out of curiosity what kind of machine are you running OSX on and what version of the OS did you get working? I have been looking into going the hackintosh route vs. buying a mac but I'm trying to gauge how much of a pain it is to get everything up and running for iPhone development. Thanks.
  9. DomMaiocchi

    DomMaiocchi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    To be honest, its a PC I built out of parts I found in the trash. Its running OS X 10.5.6

    Let me upload a picture of it, one minute please.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Here some some pictures. If any computer is worthy of the name Hackintosh, it would be mine

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    It isn't powerful by today's standards but it runs Leopard like butter. Everything works.

    Are you looking for its specific specs?

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    Please Register or Log in to view images


    Please Register or Log in to view images




    OSX in the background. I use my PC's keyboard and mouse. I use my secondary 22" screen for it (1680x1050).

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. AZSupra

    AZSupra New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    haha that's awesome. Don't really need the full specs, I was just curious if you needed a particular chipset to get OSX to play nice. I actually have a computer screwed to a piece of plywood just like that

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    came out of a car and was modded to bolt onto an amp rack... I think that might be the victim for my experiment. Did you need a retail copy of OSX to get it to run?

Share This Page