Not Again!!!!

Discussion in 'Pwnage and Winpwn Discussions' started by Insanelygreat01, Apr 10, 2008.

  1. Insanelygreat01

    Insanelygreat01 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone
    Everytime i try to PWN my ipod this is what happens.

    2008-04-10 16:02:45 - Loaded .ipsw file from '/Users/Nik/Library/iTunes/iPod Software Updates/iPod1,1_1.1.4_4A102_Restore.ipsw.zip'.
    2008-04-10 16:02:55 - Recognized .ipsw file as version iPod1,1_1.1.4_4A102.
    ------------------------------
    2008-04-10 16:03:05 - Unzipping .ipsw file to /tmp/ipsw.
    2008-04-10 16:03:14 - OK
    2008-04-10 16:03:14 - Patching iBoot.
    2008-04-10 16:03:14 - OK
    2008-04-10 16:03:14 - Attaching custom ramdisk to '/Volumes/Ramdisk'.
    2008-04-10 16:03:20 - OK
    2008-04-10 16:03:20 - Updating custom ramdisk.
    2008-04-10 16:03:22 - FAIL
    2008-04-10 16:03:22 - Detaching custom ramdisk from '/Volumes/Ramdisk'.
    2008-04-10 16:03:23 - OK
    ------------------------------
    2008-04-10 16:03:23 - Failed to start "pwning" on your iPhone/iPod.


    i dont know what to do... im using the 1.1.4 firmware i got from apple thru iTunes. i tried downloading the 1.1.4 firmware from other places i got links from here but it isnt zipped up its just like iPod1,1_1 and i try to zip it up but when i run it thew pwnage it says it cant reconize the firmware... if anyone else has a clue on whats wrong id like to know...
  2. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    It shouldn't be a .zip file it should be a .ispw file. Download it with Firefox and try again.
    1 person likes this.
  3. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    He doesn't have to. Just remove the ".zip" from the extension by renaming it.
    1 person likes this.
  4. Insanelygreat01

    Insanelygreat01 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone
    okay i changed the file from .zip just plain .ipsw and it still doesnt work. it isnt able to patch the bootloader...i have no clue what is wrong.

    help

    Nik
  5. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    I can't remember what the story was but I think ilikemonkeys found the solution for this yesterday. It had something to do with deleting something in Volumes with the ramdisk or something. Will keep looking and let you know.
  6. Insanelygreat01

    Insanelygreat01 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone
    okay thank you very much!
  7. Niiro13

    Niiro13 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't have to be a ispw file...it can be a zip file as long as it has the firmware...I've used .zip many times without fail.

    So the problem is not that.
  8. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    Yeah, we figured that out a few posts ago but thanks for pointing that out again

    In Finder choose "Go" in the menu then "Go to folder"
    Write: /Volumes/
    Delete the Ramdisk
    Run Pwnage Tools again.
    No problems.

    So the problem seems to be that if the program fails the first time, the ramdisk isn't deleted which makes the program fails afterwords.
  9. Insanelygreat01

    Insanelygreat01 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone
    hmm... i did that and the ramdisc volume wasnt listed. i tried pwning again and the ram disc popped up ut when it failed again the ramdisc unmounted and went away...
  10. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    Well my friend other than a computer restart and another attempt this is officially above my pay grade. Sorry.

Share This Page