Noob's Guide to VOIP

Discussion in 'iPod touch VoIP and Telephony' started by kenney69, Dec 31, 2007.

  1. kenney69

    kenney69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    I might as well, I've got some time on my hands.

    You need a fully jailbroken iPod Touch to do this.

    Step 1: Getting the Program

    Add http://touchmods.net/rep.xml to your Sources in Installer. Then, go to Categories, touch Touchmods, download and install Touchmods SIP-VOIP. Reboot your iPoT.

    Step 2: Making a Freecalls account

    Go to freecall.com and download Freecalls. Install it. Follow the on-screen instructions and only fill in the fields with a red asterisk next to them. Try calling your house from your computer to ensure that it works. You don't have to buy credits right away. Reboot your iPoT. Then, open up the app on your iPoT, touch Account, and enter your account's info. For Registrar, put in sip.voiparound.com.

    Step 3: Making a Call

    Touch Phone in the app, and enter the number you wish to call. You'll need your country's code to make the call correctly. The only one I know is USA's which is 00. The format for the number is:

    (country code)(number)

    Example:

    Here's a number you'd dial from any phone:

    1-847-356-6969

    On your computer, it would be like this:

    18473566969

    On your iPoT, it would be like this:

    0018473566969

    That's not my phone number, btw. That's for a number in the USA. Try calling your house. Put in your headphones and listen to yourself talk pointlessly. You're going to want a microphone to talk from, so go to www.touchmods.net and reserve one, or use the Wal-Mart mod. Search the forums for that.


    Click here for a database of country codes.
  2. GTanything

    GTanything New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    freecall wont work on my pc it says sound device problems are preventing this call any suggestions
  3. Evalocity7

    Evalocity7 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Well I downloaded FreeCall on my PC and I tried calling my home phone but it keeps saying that the phone number is invalid...I am entering it like this 00(areacode)(number) I even tried it without the area code and just the 00(number) and it doesnt work...I live in the US
  4. e.mann30

    e.mann30 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    8
    try here

    If freecall doesn't work try one of these http://www.ifans.com/forums/showthread.php?p=149888#post149888
  5. Brock15

    Brock15 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    ya, what is the one for canada
  6. cookiesnpie

    cookiesnpie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    the country code for canada is 1

    so its 1-234-567-8900

    u just add 1 in front of the phone number
  7. jstlookinground

    jstlookinground New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    hmm, it worked on my computer, but not the ipod

    haha nvm i just forgot to turn wifi back on after i rebooted. pretty cool. but the call comes in as private, and most people dont answer private calls
  8. MarkusH91

    MarkusH91 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hy

    at works fine for me with the home phone!
    But what to do with Handy???
  9. [ß]

    [ß] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    i have a mac, so cant make a freecalls account. Could someone make one for me?
  10. shortguy088

    shortguy088 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    did you try dialng like 00-1-area code- phone number?
    thats what i had to do.

Share This Page