No Roms w/ GPSPhone and 1.1.4

Discussion in 'Gameboy Advance emulator (gpSPhone)' started by TJ!, Mar 17, 2008.

  1. TJ!

    TJ! New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello : )

    I have installed gpsPhone ( GBA Emulator ) onto my iPod Touch that is running 1.1.4 firmware.

    I used WinSCP to SSH the gba_bios.bin into the gpsPhone directory and changed the permissions of the file to 0755.

    Then I put some ROMs ( .gba format ) into the folders:
    "private/var/root/Media/ROMs/GBA" and
    "private/var/mobile/Media/ROMs/GBA"
    and then changed all of the permissions to 0755.

    However, after starting gpsPhone, it still says I have no ROMs, and that I should put them into
    "var/root/Media/ROMs/GBA"

    I cannot figure out where I am going wrong, as I have definitely done everything recommended in the forums!

    The only possible problem I could think of is that I used BossTools to move my applications into the Media partition of my iPod's storage ( So I could hold all the ROMs in the first place! )

    Please help me : )
  2. bigmoew

    bigmoew New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Try changing those permissions to 0777
  3. DaveCS2

    DaveCS2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem.
    Here's what I've done:

    Tried -
    Uniinstalling gbSphone.
    Reinstalled : Rebooted : SSHed the binary file : Added roms to proper folder
    I even tried craeting the directory in the apps folder and adding roms that way

    I still get the "No roms found" message.

    BTW: I have this problem with all the emulators, not just gbSPhone.

    I'm running 1.1.4 ziPone jailbreak on a 32gb iPod Touch
  4. Sickly_slick

    Sickly_slick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    10
    okay first of all did you install gpsPhone version 1.5? if you did good, follow these instructions
    SSH into your iPod
    navigate to:
    /var/roots/Media
    create folder ROMs in /var/roots/Media
    create folder GBA in /var/roots/Media/ROMs <- thats the folder you created from a step above
    place .gba games into /var/roots/Media/ROMs
    enjoy playing GBA games on your super expensive gameboy advance =)

    btw, if you have the bios you cannot play
    to download the bio just google this term "gba_bios.bin"
    you'll know what to do

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. DaveCS2

    DaveCS2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't have version 1.1.5
    Thanks.
    I don't know if the zodttd sourch does it for you but I didn't have to set permissions and it works.
    Wonderful.
  6. kmixan

    kmixan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    yay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i had the same problem and just had to install the gpsphone 1.5 thanks!!!
    but i can't save the game -.- heeelp
  7. Sickly_slick

    Sickly_slick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    10
    read my thread and you'll have your gpsPhone working fully
    http://www.ifans.com/forums/showthread.php?t=49887

Share This Page