Nexus one swapping carriers sim cards?

Discussion in 'Computing, Science, and Technology' started by ringo360, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. ringo360

    ringo360 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I have found the perfect phone for me. The nexus one. Unfortunately I have very little knowledge on cell phones actual connectivity to they're carriers, therefor I am asking you. If I bought a nexus one, could I put a virgin mobile sim card in it and use virgin mobiles towers? The nexus one is supposed to be compatible with most American carriers so if I'm not mistaken, this would work correct? Please don't insult me if I'm wrong, I was just wondering because virgin mobile is so much cheeper and my income isn't very much. Thanks!
  2. deadlyvirus

    deadlyvirus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Are you using Virgin Mobile USA?
  3. ringo360

    ringo360 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I do not have a cell phone right now, I'm just wondering if I could use virgin mobile USA with this phone
  4. deadlyvirus

    deadlyvirus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Virgin USA uses CDMA instead of GSM which the Nexus One uses.
  5. ringo360

    ringo360 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    So could I use the htc hero? I heard it uses CDMA
  6. deadlyvirus

    deadlyvirus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I don't think you can activate any phone with CDMA unless the carrier wants you to. So, you can only use the phones on Virgin's site. No Android, but there is supposed to one coming soon.
  7. taptaptouch

    taptaptouch Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Your best bet is to get go phone if you want to use the nexus one prepaid
  8. ripply

    ripply Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Exactly. There is a way to unlock them, but no way to activate them on the network you want.
  9. ringo360

    ringo360 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    ok thanks alot!

Share This Page