Newbie - what is this pop-up box when I connect my iPod touch to my laptop?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by cschoen, Jan 21, 2010.

  1. cschoen

    cschoen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    When I connect my iPod Touch to my laptop (at work, I get a popup box:

    Camera connected

    Select the program to launch for this action:

    (then the choices)
    Microsoft Offic Publisher (twice with different icons)
    Microsoft Office Word
    Microsoft Scanner and Camera Wizard

    I just cancel out the bos since this is NOT an iPhone, and, of course, I don't have a camera.

    Any idea what this is?
  2. xxhorseriderxxx

    xxhorseriderxxx Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    It's apple's way of makin' it "easier" for Windows users to extract photos (from either the camera roll or the "saved pictures" on an iPod) to their PC.
  3. cschoen

    cschoen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Any way I can disable it - should I? (Wow, I'm impressed and grateful - thanks for the lightening fast response!)

    C

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. Avisax

    Avisax New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I am not sure if you can disable it unless your jailbreak it.
    But it's also useful. Images you save from Safari (or other programs) or images you take a screenshot of HOME BUTTON + POWER BUTTON appear there. You can then back them up, save them onto your hard drive, or whatever you desire.
  5. jmanprousk

    jmanprousk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Go into the control panel (On Windows) and turn off AutoPlay

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  6. sam_rock

    sam_rock Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    34
    Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    right click iPT camera in 'Computer' n go to properties or whatver. There should be a checkbox or something which enables the the iPT to autorun as camera. I used this on my Win7!

Share This Page