Newbie might want an iTouch and need knowledge first

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Alex Ethridge, Mar 18, 2009.

1. Alex Ethridge

Alex Ethridge New Member

I am so impressed with the iPod Touch's ability to handle web pages, I am considering getting one; but, I have a lot of questions and every time I find an answer, I have more questions.

I don't know a less wordy way to express my concerns so I apologize for taking too much of your time (if you don't mind reading all of this).

I have no knowledge of Mac. I am strictly a PC guy and not interested in "converting". I make my living servicing PCs and Networks. I am currently using a Palm Treo 680 SmartPhone that does everything and more that my backup Palm TX does. The TX does a great job of everything but web pages. You've gotta' be desperate to view a web page on it.

I have accumulated almost 900 troubleshooting documents, some in MS Word format and some in RTF. Some have tables and pictures. My Palm does a good job with those, both for editing and viewing. I need to be able to both view and edit documents on the Touch and synchronize those documents with the PC.

I have a list of about 1200 contacts, currently in the Palm Desktop program in the PC; but, I could change that to Outlook if necessary. I must be able to make changes daily to the contacts and synchronize that with the 'Touch.

I have an event calendar that gives me alarms for events at user-specified intervals that can be minutes, hours or days before the event. That also is a must.

From what I read so far, there is a "jailbreak" program that allows one to install third-party applications. Might that help me?

And lastly, where are some good places on the internet that I can see what applications are available and get some detail about their features and capabilities?