Newbie here...

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by crappie_fisherman, Nov 4, 2008.

1. crappie_fisherman

crappie_fisherman New Member

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Okay...

We've decided to get our two younger daughters (9 and 11) each a touch for Christmas.

Mainly for video viewing while we travel long distances pulling our camper on summer vacations over the portable DVD players and mp3 players we haul all over the country...

I have a couple of questions for you folks.

First...we have a large DVD collection of their favorite movies.

Our PC's are Window XP based machines.

It seems that folks like handbrake for ripping movies from DVD to AVI. I have never used that program...or any other like it...but my question is do I simply load handbrake (or some of the other SW packages) and then it walks me thru what I need to do to rip the movie to my machine?

Second question. Since we travel a lot for many long hours in the truck. Does the touch come with AC adapters in the package or is this an additional purchased item? I already have an inverter in the truck that I carry with us...so I was just curious if you get the AC cord when you buy the touch.

Sorry to ask what has likely been asked probably 1000 times in the past. I'm trying to learn as much as I can before we buy and then before the kids get these for Christmas and then dad has to show THEM how to work something I have never worked with before.

Oh yeah...is there anything else I should know about before taking the plunge on two of these?

Are there any good video tutorial sites I can go watch over lunch?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Joe.
  2. Teslanaut

Teslanaut Well-Known Member

Device:
    4G iPod touch
    If you want the full entire DVD, all 4 - 8 GB of it, you'll have to make a complete image of it by using either IMGBurn or CDBurnerXP. Both are Free software. If you want to put them on the iPod Touches for viewing, just use Handbrake and the presets that they give.