New or Old Macook for my needs?

Discussion in 'Mac & OS X' started by Antney1234, Mar 22, 2009.

1. Antney1234

Antney1234 New Member

Device:
    iPhone
    Hello sorry to bother everyone. I have a quick question. I've been a PC user all my life and it's getting really old and slow, and I need a laptop for my school work. I'm thinking about getting my first Apple computer a Macbook. This Macbook has to last me over 8 years, for my current high school years and University. I really like the user interface with macs and I've used my cousins IMac and I love it. My budget limits me to only spend up to $1400. I am really new to Apple computers and I don't have a lot experience with them. I was wondering If I should get the old white/black macbooks or the new aluminum one? I won't mind upgrading the RAM to 4gb. I was thinking about the old ones because they are selling really cheap online and they are more affordable. I definitely want a Apple computer no more PC's for now.

Which Macbook do you think I should purchase according to my needs?

I would really appreciate it if you guys would help me because I have no clue and I don't want to make a wrong decision. Sorry if I'm being a pain

Please Register or Log in to view images

2. ZunePod

ZunePod Banned

Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    The only difference is the outer casing
  3. doddz3h

doddz3h New Member

I was in the same situation when starting college a few years ago and I bit the bullet and got a MacBook.

Never looked back since!

I think that they can be over priced if you get the upgrades through apple (like extra ram) so do what I done and just buy the one with the CPU that suits you and you can very easily add more RAM and a different hard drive at a fraction of the cost of doing it through apple. not sure if its just as easy or possible with the new unibody ones.....

But I fully back that saying they all say

"Once you go Mac, you never go back!"
  4. Duykur

Duykur Banned

macook?

does it make sushi?