New mac ?

Discussion in 'General Apple Chat' started by ryanlusk, Nov 21, 2008.

  1. ryanlusk

    ryanlusk Banned

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm gonna get a MacBook in like two weeks or so , and I already have one mac.
    How do you transfer EVERYTHING from the old mac to the new one ?
    Is there an easy way ?

    And no , for all the people who probably will suggest it , copy pasting everything from finder won't work.
  2. fear_2670

    fear_2670 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use a portable drive and just reorganize everything, it's FUN and i like moving.
  3. jhloa2

    jhloa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    its really easy, all you do is connect the two computers with a usb cable, Ethernet cable, fire wire cable or even wifi and it will do the rest
  4. ryanlusk

    ryanlusk Banned

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    @fear , that won't work. It won't copy all the permissions and all that sh*t right.

    @jhloa , what do you mean "it will do the rest" Wouldn't that just make it so the computers show up in the little sources thing ?
    Which wouldn't do much for me.
  5. ricardofelix95

    ricardofelix95 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    4
    I dont think theres a way, try seardching on goole or Apple support.
  6. ryanlusk

    ryanlusk Banned

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    That sucks , there must be a way ?
    And googling just shows me how to just put it all on a new drive rather than a new computer.

    Tes , do you know

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    The Apple genius

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. thechungster

    thechungster Super Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,886
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    You can use Target disk mode can't you?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Target_Disk_Mode
    Just use your mac, and use this to transfer all your data via FireWire
    Or you can use a time machine backup in which to transfer data (Not sure about this one)

Share This Page