New iPod Touch Icon in My Computer

Discussion in 'iTunes' started by rickatnight11, Sep 11, 2008.

  1. rickatnight11

    rickatnight11 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    8
    As far as I know this is a new feature. When you plug your iPod Touch into a Windows PC with iTunes 8 installed (and the new drivers that come with it, I assume) the iPod shows up in My Computer as an actual iPod Touch, not just another drive icon. I'm at work without the ability to take a screenshot, but it looks just like the picture I scrapped together from an article about hacking the USB interface I wrote months ago:

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. Meikura

    Meikura Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,081
    Likes Received:
    431
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Yeah... missed that last part

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    Sorry about that!

    Anyone confirm this?

    EDIT: Doesn't work on OS X with a 1.1.4 iPod, but I didn't expect it to.
  3. rickatnight11

    rickatnight11 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    8
    It's cool. You know you like my hawt Paint.net skills.
  4. juliust71

    juliust71 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    It's a new icon i hadn't realized it, anyway it's fun

    Attached Files:

  5. rickatnight11

    rickatnight11 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hmm, I wonder if it depends on the firmware of the iPod. And you have iTunes 8?
  6. Meikura

    Meikura Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,081
    Likes Received:
    431
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Yep, iTunes 8... I guess it must be a firmware thing.
  7. rickatnight11

    rickatnight11 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    8
    Interestingly it's not working on my XP machine. It just shows up with the default camera picture.
  8. cainy

    cainy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    0
    dont get anything on my vista machine (itunes 8 FW/rev 2.1)
  9. EricJD

    EricJD New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)

    Attached Files:

  10. rickatnight11

    rickatnight11 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yeah, I'm not sure what the variable is, but it works on my Vista machine at home.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page