New Ipod touch.. few questions

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by SmokinAce09, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. SmokinAce09

    SmokinAce09 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,
    I just got the new 32gig ipod touch 3g and I have a few questions.

    How do i access the internet from my ipod when at home through my wireless router?
    Also, how do i install/ download apps onto my new ipod touch?
  2. Bl00dr4g3

    Bl00dr4g3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    you gonna be in my sig. Anyway go to settings>wifi>(pick the name of your internet and if it has password put that in) and walla!

    For apps, go to appstore find a app and type in your itunes account user name and password.
  3. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    you can also just connect to the store on itunes and get your apps from there and then sync them to your ipod

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    doesnt really make a difference.
  4. 4NewHop3

    4NewHop3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,443
    Likes Received:
    703
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    to connect your iPod touch to your router via WiFi you got to Settings > WiFi and turn your WiFi on...you have to choose your network and then you are all set...

    if you want to download apps first get an iTunes account (I preferbly like doing this on the computer but you can do it on the iPod itself) and then download them through App Store
  5. sprint_user

    sprint_user New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    Your going in mine for being a jerk!
    Wifi = Setting>WiFi>Select your router
    Apps = App Store > Browse apps
    Uninstall = Hold down an icon until it wiggles, then press the "X" in the top left corner.
  6. 4NewHop3

    4NewHop3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,443
    Likes Received:
    703
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    dude you are a jerk...this is probably his first iPod touch and he has 1 post...you are making this website look bad by Being a jerk to a new member with just 1 post
  7. chinook

    chinook New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    thats going in my sig
  8. xinzhitan14

    xinzhitan14 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    smokinace09 -

    First you need to setup a wireless network on your router at home, if you've done this already skip the following steps.
    1. access your WebGUI page for your router
    2. go to wireless settings and security
    3. follwing information please input it
    SSID - name of your network
    SSID Broadcast off - enable this if you want, just means you will need to type in your SSID name when you want to connect to it
    Channel - set to 1,6 or 11 up to you really. If you find you have poor signal on some channels try the other availiable.
    mode - dont set to mixed mode, leave it on 802.11g for mixed mode will throttle your wireless if a 802.11b user is using it.
    encryption - WPA2-PSK or you can choose WPA-PSK
    shared key - whatever password you want to set

    and your'e done with your router. restart and your wireless should be up

    setting wifi to connect with your home network on ipod
    1. settings - > wifi
    2. (since you set to disable SSID broadcast you will need to manually add it in) other -> type in your SSID name and input your password and you should be set!

    if you have any questions feel free to pm me, i'm quite good with wireless networking and general.

    App's, just make an account on the app store in itunes and you can download whatever you want to sync to your ipod.
  9. SmokinAce09

    SmokinAce09 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks guys, i wasn't really thinking/putting forth much effort in learning this thing earlier; wasn't really feeling up to it. I got it all figured out and everything is good thanks guys.

    one more question how do i enable the genius playlist? I can't find it on itunes.
  10. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    well im assuming youre using itunes 9
    on the left toolbar, click on "Genius"
    and then it will send all your songs to Apple or whatever and then itll generate playlists for you

Share This Page