New iPod touch, can't do anything to get to work!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by SirKrinkles, Dec 18, 2009.

  1. SirKrinkles

    SirKrinkles New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Hey guys,
    I just got an iPod touch, and I cannot get this thing to work. I get the error "This iPod cannot be used because the required software is not installed." It then asks me to uninstall/reinstall, which I did. I ran into another post with the same problem, found here: http://www.ifans.com/forums/showthread.php?t=55482
    I suppose that I didn't have the right firmware, mine is 13.1.3. I went to the site that jpga13 said (http://appldnld.apple.com.edgesuite....2_Restore.ipsw) and downloaded the new firmware, and it opened or whatever as a WinRAR Zip archive. I put it in the folder where my 13.1.3 firmware was in, but I don't know how to get it to run the restore so I can have the firmware I need. It's now in the iPod Software Updates folder, but its still a WinRAR file with the books. Where do I go from here? Any ideas?
  2. 42395_skyline

    42395_skyline Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    10,912
    Likes Received:
    489
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    dude, your post is all f***ed up.

    Plug it into itunes and press restore. that will fix all your problems.
  3. SirKrinkles

    SirKrinkles New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I have no idea where the restore option is man, and I don't think I've updated the firmware correctly
  4. yuyaera

    yuyaera Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Go to iTunes. You see where it says (Your Name) iPod
    click on that. Should say restore in the middle of the page.
  5. 42395_skyline

    42395_skyline Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    10,912
    Likes Received:
    489
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    what touch is it btw? 1G, 2G, 3G? JW.
  6. SirKrinkles

    SirKrinkles New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    My iPod doesn't even show up in iTunes, because I don't have the necessary software apparently (newest version of firmware). Now I downloaded it, but I don't know how to open/unzip the Restore file, and I'm pretty sure that's what my problem is. So how would I do that?

    And my iPod is 3G.
  7. BigDaveyJ

    BigDaveyJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,751
    Likes Received:
    23
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Update your itunes first, then plug in your ipod. and restore it.
  8. 42395_skyline

    42395_skyline Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    10,912
    Likes Received:
    489
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    update itunes, put ipod in DFU mode, plug it in and restore. in DFU mode it shouldnt want any software.
  9. jmwerkus

    jmwerkus Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 5S

    ur confusing him...
  10. SirKrinkles

    SirKrinkles New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I don't know how to put my iPod in DFU mode.. Anytime I turn it on, all it shows is the USB plug going to the iTunes icon. So are you saying all I have to do is uninstall and reinstall, then plug it in and restore? I've tried that before though, and the restore option isn't there..

Share This Page