Need to Jailbreak w/o Restoring, please help

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by BloodRaven, Jul 25, 2009.

1. BloodRaven

BloodRaven New Member

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Hi,

I'm new to jailbreaking (though have experience with manipulating firmware on my old iPod Nano). Currently, I manually manage my music. Not all of my music/videos are on the computer I use now, and I would not like to have to manually get my music back again. I was wondering if there is a way to jailbreak my iPod Touch 2G* (using redsn0w (0.8?), ofcourse), without restoring.

A few notes:
    -My iPod has never been jailbroken
    -I'm running OS 3.0 already (I downloaded it directly from iTunes)
    -I'm running Windows XP

*EDIT: Sorry I was not specific when putting my iPod model into the thread title.

I know that you have to restore to update to 3.0, but am not sure how to go about jailbreaking without restoring.

My main problem is that I cannot find the .ipsw file anywhere on my computer.

Help is much appreciated, and thanks ahead of time.
  2. SolarFlare

SolarFlare New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    You don't need to restore to jailbreak. You do need the corresponding .ipsw restore file for your device. Use redsn0w, which will give you instructions as you jailbreak your device.
  3. BloodRaven

BloodRaven New Member

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I tried to jailbreak with redsn0w, but could not find the .ipsw restore file, unfortunately. I looked under the correct folders (C:\Users\*USERNAME8\AppData\Roaming\Apple Computer\iTunes\iPod Software Updates), but could not find it.

What I have read is that you have to old down shift and click the Restore button and browse iPod Touch OS 3.0 firmware. Do I have to download the firmware first and then do this? And this will not restore my iPod, just the firmware, correct?

Thanks
  4. SolarFlare

SolarFlare New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    Try this location instead: