Need Testing With Custom Bochs OSes!

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by DarkWrath, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. DarkWrath

    DarkWrath Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Note: I have updated the guide, please try again.
    Note 2: This project has been abandoned. I'm no longer continuing it.


    I have managed to create a way to install any custom OS onto Bochs (XP, Ubuntu, MS-DOS, whatever tickles your fancy), but first I will need some testing done to see if it boots correctly (due to the fact that I am on a 2G and on 3.1.1 I cannot test myself). Once everything has been tested I will then post up a tutorial.

    What I need you to do:
    1. Download the FreeDOS.img and OS.ini

    2. Make a folder entitled BochsBootTest and place both files into it. I will put up a zipped folder when I have sorted out problems with my PC.

    3. SSH the folder into /var/mobile/Library/Bochs/ so the structure will look like
    Code:
    /var/mobile/Library/Bochs/BochsBootTest
    4. Set the permissions of FreeDOS.img to 777 and respring. Try and boot it up (all there will be is C:\ at the bottom of the scroll of text due to the fact that it is a command line OS) and post the results! All I need to know is if it boots up correctly (and if there are any errors).

    Thanks

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. kyle1320

    kyle1320 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    WHY did my iPod have to break NOW??? I sent it in TODAY D:
  3. DarkWrath

    DarkWrath Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Damn... You could have been one of my testers and all...

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. sambalayne

    sambalayne Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    ill test if you pm me with instructions on how to get bochs ive been trying for a really long time please please!
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    ok ive got bochs im gunna test!
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    dosnt work heres the error i get:

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. picklejw

    picklejw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    hey sambalayne, try setting permissions for the freedos.img file to "777" in other owrds sett img permissins to be "executable" thats y win98 didnt work before its probebly y it would work for this one to

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  6. sambalayne

    sambalayne Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Umm I use iPhone browser is there still a way to do that?
  7. DarkWrath

    DarkWrath Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Ok, could someone also send me the OS.ini from the stock Win95 image? I want to make sure I have got everything right.

    EDIT: Nevermind, I've extracted it out of the original .deb with 7zip, I'll post the corrected one later.

    EDIT 2: Modified OS.ini up. Please test again if it failed for you.
  8. sambalayne

    sambalayne Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    testing it again now hangon

    update: doesn't work same error
  9. DarkWrath

    DarkWrath Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Hmm... Ok... I'll try and sort it out.

    EDIT: Try again, I've changed the os.ini, also, set the permissions of the FreeDOS.img to 777
  10. douglas99182

    douglas99182 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Um ok, the reason it DOES NOT BOOt, GUYS, is because you need TO EDIT THE OS.INI. hope this helps. lol the ini has a set area for the boot disk u need to make sure u got everything set up the right way too
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    All though, guys, the MiniVMac on the ipod touch IS ACTUALLY FUNCTIONAL and works as a Mac OS 7.0 on your ipod just like bochs might EXCEPT it has a keyboard, and FUNCTIONS DECENTLY speeded lol

Share This Page