Need help with landscape controller

Discussion in 'Gameboy Advance emulator (gpSPhone)' started by mcdavid68, Apr 7, 2008.

  1. mcdavid68

    mcdavid68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    well im new to ipod'ing and mostly new to making a gpsphone controller, i have it made up i just need the coordinate list so i know how to make the .txt file for it...

    heres the skin for it if you want to get a peek for what im making, its no were near done yet thou

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    Please Register or Log in to view images


    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. Sickly_slick

    Sickly_slick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    10
    sry i dont think these skins are going to work because they are almost opaque.
    you wont see the gameplay through these skins.
    if you still want to know more information about making skins, go to zodttd's website
    (hes the creator)
    google it, on his site search for gpsphone and you'll find some good answers
  3. mcdavid68

    mcdavid68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    well i found how to do that now ( the post and what the coordinates are ) and i did em all and it doesnt work.... i dont know why, like the menu is in the wrong place and things, and i checked it to the ones gpsphone came with and it didnt work...

    if someone wants to take a look it would be much apreciated... heres the link http://mouchikillz.googlepages.com/Controller.zip and of course +1 rep for whoever helps me some more.

    EDIT: the .png with the shading around the buttons is supose to be the active zones (or whatever they are called)
  4. PAEz

    PAEz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    10
    i dont have my iTouch to test anything and ive never done this before, but i had a look and.......

    at zodttd's forums i found this....
    1. Make a controller image overlay that is in PNG format and is 320x480 pixel width by height.

    2. The controller overlay should have a place for the following buttons listed in the .txt file explained below.

    3. Overwrite a controller_fsX.png image in the installation directory of gpSPhone, where "X" is a number 0 to 5.

    4. Make a corresponding controller_fsX.txt file with the following coordinates of the touch buttons on the 320x480 image you made:
    DownLeft
    Down
    DownRight
    Left
    Right
    UpLeft
    Up
    UpRight
    Select
    Start
    A
    B
    AB
    L Trigger
    R Trigger
    Menu

    5. Each button above should have coordinates in the following format: x,y,width,height

    6. So the .txt file would look something like:
    0,0,1,1
    2,2,3,3
    6,6,7,7

    7. For an example look at the included controller images and txt files look in the installation directory of gpSPhone.

    ....and your coordinate file is this........
    8,24,47,49
    63,3,90,75
    164,24,47,49
    0,79,108,62
    109,79,62,124
    10,155,47,49
    63,141,91,101
    167,155,47,49
    269,0,97,48
    269,47,97,46
    375,96,89,76
    375,4,89,72
    379,77,89,19
    294,252,80,70
    388,252,80,70
    0,265,85,59

    ...well that doesnt look right. The readme says that it must be 320x480 which your pic is, but then it says that the cords must be x,y,width,height and your cords dont match up.
    you have lines like this...
    388,252,80,70
    x=388 (thats past 320?) y=252 width=80 (that would make the hot spots width end at 468) height=70
    ...i think maybe you should be looking at your cord file
    try these cords....
    25,9,48,46
    4,63,73,90
    24,164,49,47
    80,0,61,107
    79,109,62,124
    156,9,49,47
    142,63,100,91
    155,167,50,47
    0,269,48,96
    48,266,45,97
    96,376,77,88
    5,376,72,87
    77,377,20,88
    253,294,67,80
    253,388,67,80
    266,0,54,85
    ...just made these up with paint.net...havent got my iTouch so cant test it...they might be off by a pixel or two but they should work fine....although i think your A+B might be a bit hard to hit, but i like where you put the Ltrigger and Rtrigger.
    1 person likes this.
  5. mcdavid68

    mcdavid68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    thanks very much ill try those coords. i was wondering, i was using fireworks to find the cooords so i will try to see what i was doing wrong now thanks

    edit: can you tell me how you found the coordinates, i thought i was doing it right, maybe im not..
  6. mcdavid68

    mcdavid68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    i agree with the fact that the a and b are a bit hard to use so i edited the original and made this... im gonna try to make the .txt hopefully it will work

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. mcdavid68

    mcdavid68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    aight well i made the text for this file

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    and it doesnt work this is the .txt
    21,36,45,46
    69,0,92,83
    165,36,46,45
    0,83,112,58
    112,83,112,58
    22,144,45,44
    69,141,92,82
    165,144,44,44
    268,0,100,65
    269,74,100,65
    372,129,106,94
    372,0,106,94
    374,96,104,31
    256,250,105,70
    375,250,105,70
    0,272,87,52
  8. PAEz

    PAEz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    10
    Sorry I didnt reply for a bit.
    Heres a quick rundown on how I made those other cords i sent ya. Hope they worked coz i aint checked any of this

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    but if they did then this is how i made em.

    Load ya picture in Paint.net...
    http://www.getpaint.net/download.html
    Dont rotate it, bcoz remember the width and height of the controller is 320x480.
    Zoom in a bit...too about 300% just to make it easier to select things.
    Use the Rectangle Select tool, which is the icon in the top left of the tool bar..the first icon, click it.
    Using this tool start selecting the buttons according to the order of the list in the readme...
    ...and writting down the cords.
    The cords are easy to get with Paint.net. When you make a selection the cords you need will be in the status bar.
    The cords need to be in the format...x,y,width,height...which is how they are displayed in status bar of Paint.net.
  9. mcdavid68

    mcdavid68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    i think that i saw somewere that it was OriginOfy,OriginOfx,Ysize,Xsize thanks i will try making it now =D

    EDIT: i got it to work! yay, here's the link if anyone wants My Controller
  10. PAEz

    PAEz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    10
    Glad ya got it working
    Just for clarrification, was it x,y,xwidth,ywidth or y,x,ywidth,xheight ..... thats how its documented in the readme that comes with gpsphone 1.5.0...just dont want to confuse anyone who might look at this thread later coz they have the same problem

Share This Page