iOS 3.1 Need help jailbreaking, very new to this!

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by chaoscreater, Dec 25, 2009.

1. chaoscreater

chaoscreater New Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Hi guys, I just got a new Itouch today for xmas present. I haven't owned one at all, but i have heard of jailbreaking for Iphone/Itouch be4.

Anyway i'm not really sure what my Itouch version is, i think it's a 3G because logically, it should be since i got it today. I got it wrapped as well so i don't have the official packaging either, so i dunno whether it's a 2G or 3G.

So anyway i'm really new to all this jailbreaking thing, i did a lot of research on Google and read a few tuts at the website Cydia etc but they seem confusing to me with multiple files i need to download, and i don't wanna screw this up so i wanna take this slow and safe.

I also own a PSP and have also hacked it with custom firmware as well, and anyone with a PSP who have bricked them by accident due to a faulty custom firmware or faulty installation method will know what i mean, and it seems jailbreaking an Itouch might not be as easy as hacking a PSP so ya, please be patient with me and explain things to me.

I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit, and i don't have any MACs.

There seems to be several ways to jailbreak an Itouch, like Quickpwn or BlackRa1n etc, but i'm not sure which one i should use. I'm not even sure about the different custom firmwares there are, i know the latest is something like 3.1.2? But apparently most people choose to stay at 2.xx, i'm not sure why, if someone could explain the difference that will be nice.

Also, what does untethered mean?? I've seen this word so many times but don't understand it, and it seems Itouch 3G has a lot of problems with jailbreaking or something?