Need help jailbreaking ipod touch 3g 32 gb os 3.1.2

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by oscarmk, Nov 23, 2009.

1. oscarmk

oscarmk New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    Hello,

I am completely new to jailbreaking, although I'm an iphone developer myself. Anyway I just bought an ipod touch 3g, and i would like to jailbreak it, however I have never ever done this. What does it take to jailbreak a ipod touch 3g with os 3.1.2?. The ipod touch came with OS 3.1 out of the box.

Additionally from what I understand once I jailbreak the device there are sites that have pretty much all the applications for free (as well as applications not approved by apple) , can anybody point me in the right direction for such trustworthy sites?.

Any help will be greatly apreciated. Thank you.

-Oscar

EDIT: I just realized this is probably not on the right forum, can a mod please move this to the appropriate forum please?
  2. Cl8rs

Cl8rs Active Member

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Okay to jailbreak your device go here
    Click on the OS your using
    Now open Blackra1n
    Plug in your iPod
    Click "make it ra1n"
    Done

Please Register or Log in to view images

Now since you have a 3rd gen you have a tethered jailbreak, which means if you turn off your ipod, the only way to turn it on is if you plug it into your computer, and once you see the "Connect to iTunes screen" run Blackra1n again and you will be back to normal.

3. oscarmk

oscarmk New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    Hello Cl8rs,

Thank you so much for your input

... so you are saying that if I turn off my ipod I won't be able to even turn it on at all, unless I connect it back to the computer and re run Blackr1n?. That sounds kinda not good =S.

Also I assume after a while the 3rd gen will not have to do this?, or is there something that fully prevents 3rd gen from being fully jailbroken?. Also once I jailbreak where can I download applications?.

Thank you.

-Oscar
  4. xblindx

xblindx New Member