Need Help, Going From XP To OSX

Discussion in 'Mac & OS X' started by HaGGardSmurf, Sep 3, 2008.

  1. HaGGardSmurf

    HaGGardSmurf New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have windows XP and im sick of microsofts bullsh*t, so I am going to convert to OSX.

    I have a few questions about it though, here they are:

    My Specs Are:
    AMD Duron Processor
    701 Mhz 320 MB Ram
    (Yes, I know its sh*t, but whatever its the computer I use in my room, the desktop in the office is custom built, and I think my brother spent like 3500 on it so if i need to use photoshop or anything i use it.)

    Anyways, with those specs, do you think I could run OSX better then XP, also, what version of OSX should I use?

    When I get OSX (I will probably download thru a *******) how do I burn it? Any special way? Any special format? Do I need to wipe my HDD? Basically how do I go about installing it?

    edit:

    I just remembered my dad recently bought a mac book (about a month ago) and it came with install disks. I dont know if theyre restore disks or if theyre actual install disks, but there is 2 of them theyre grey, and say install disk 1 and install disk 2.

    Can I use them to install on this computer? Do I need a serial number? Do I need to wipe my HDD?
  2. mrfajita

    mrfajita New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    it should be an ISO image when you download it. just burn it with nero or whatever you use to burn DVDs (youll need a dvd burner)
    and before you get rid of winxp, download CPU-Z and make sure your CPU has SSE2 or SSE3, if not it wont run.
    if you cant run it, i suggest Ubuntu Linux
  3. Meikura

    Meikura Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,081
    Likes Received:
    431
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I highly doubt OS X would work on that computer's hardware.

    I wish you the best of luck, but my advice for this situation would be to either upgrade your hardware, or buy a Mac.

    EDIT: It won't run at all. Your processor is only 701MHz and won't have SSE2 instructions because it's too old. Sorry about that.
  4. eraserhead

    eraserhead New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    You are going to have one hell of a time getting it to install on an AMD Duron...I'm not saying it can't be done, but you are going to have a better understanding of the entire process if you are going to be successful.
  5. HaGGardSmurf

    HaGGardSmurf New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whats linux like? Whenever I think of it, I think of a command line OS that only hackers use :O

    Also whats Ubuntu? Im just so tired of windows XP being slow after its been used for 3 months.
  6. jetracer

    jetracer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    1
    unless that proc is sse or sse2 than no it will not work and i doubt it. i have an athlon 64 and it barely runs.
  7. keyboarder

    keyboarder Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. Meikura

    Meikura Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,081
    Likes Received:
    431
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Please don't bump 2 week old topics, especially when we've already pointed out that OS X can't be run on his system.
  9. malibusurfer93

    malibusurfer93 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    4
  10. Gitykins

    Gitykins Banned

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,760
    Likes Received:
    1
    http://ubuntu.com

    It's pretty good Linux, especially for noobs. Runs fine on my GF's ~300 MB RAM.

Share This Page