Need Help Getting Msn To Work With Mail App

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by sharon, Feb 2, 2008.

  1. sharon

    sharon New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had mail app working with my mins account for a long time until I accidentally upgrading to 1.1.3 on itunes and then had to redo everything. At one point I did use izy mail, but that expired. I found another way to get msn thru the mail app for free, but don't remember how I did it. Please help! (I don't want to use izy mail)
  2. sharon

    sharon New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problem Fixed!!!! I somehow figured it out myself! Yeah newbie!!! So...this is how I get my msn account directed to the mail app (I do pay for my msn acct, so its not a free hotmail-don't know if this has anything to do with it working, but thought I'd just put that out there)

    Process:
    Go to Settings, then mail, then click on 'other'
    Choose POP account
    Enter the following:

    POP Acct Info
    Name: your name
    Address: your msn email address
    Description: msn

    Incoming Mail Server
    Host Name: pop3.live.com
    Username: your msn email address (not your personal name-my mistake before)
    Password: your email password

    Out Going Mail Server
    Host Name: smtp.live.com:25 (25 is acutally the port number or something that gets tacked on)

    User Name: Your msn email address
    Password: email password

    Advanced:

    Use SLL: keep it on
    Server Port: 995

    Outgoing Settings
    Use SLL: keep on
    Server Port: 25 (this is the number that gets tacked on above, as mentioned)

    Good Luck! Phew! I'm glad that's fixed...I couldn't stop trying to fix it!
  3. pino31@msn.com

    pino31@msn.com New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    2
    doesnt work?? it says "the user name or password for pop3.live.com is incorrect"
  4. pino31@msn.com

    pino31@msn.com New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    2
    help?? please
  5. paltonas

    paltonas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it does have something to do with it, i think that without paying you don't get POP3 so this won't work for a lot of people
  6. Zombie

    Zombie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    I have tried the above settings. I'm able to receive with no problems, but I cannot send. It keeps saying that it has failed. I've confirmed my settings a million times. It doesn't make sense to me. Does it have something to do with port blocking with my provider?

Share This Page