Need Help Dual Booting Vista and Leopard

Discussion in 'Mac & OS X' started by royboy303, Apr 7, 2008.

  1. royboy303

    royboy303 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ive tried so many tutorials so far and I havent got anything that works! I have iaktos dvd and also the Kallyway dvd. Is There anyone that can help me dual boot my vista with Leopard?

    My Computer Specs...
    Sony Vaio VGN-CR35S
    Processor : INtel Core 2 Duo @ 2.1ghz
    2gb Ram
    Ati Radeon graphics card
    DVD burner drive

    thats it...
    Please help!
  2. jamil_d

    jamil_d Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
  3. royboy303

    royboy303 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
  4. royboy303

    royboy303 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    hmph i remember trying this out before but getting loads of errors like.... Operating sytem missing when i try to boot up. I ended up restoring my computer 3/4 time trying out different methods.
    BTW! I only have "recovery disks" that i burned
  5. daconcerror

    daconcerror Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    ok, ive doen this before and im currently triple booting, Vista, Leopard and ubuntu. You have to partition your dirve or do what i did and install them on seperate drives. Then when it comes to installing you have to select the blank partitioned space and name it something like "Mac OS x" then when you boot it will give you to option to boot into windows or mac. Or go to Wubi and get ubuntu as well to get an all round immense computer.
  6. ZhiZhi778

    ZhiZhi778 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    do it this way:
    install windows, install any other OS and last install leopard.
    use a distro with Chameleon bootdloader/EFI bootloader. then you do not have to care about anything. the chameleon bootloader will do the stuff for you - it will recognize the windows and any other OS and set the required options in its boot-menu.
    after leopard install reboot and enjoy

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. daconcerror

    daconcerror Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    ^^ if you install ubuntu first it automatically updates your bootloader everytime a new operating system is added... or at least it did for me, ive known others who've had to install abootloader lol
  8. TheTerminator

    TheTerminator New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
  9. MrBrightside

    MrBrightside Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    18
    Bit late possibly but i'm in the process of doing this now (just backing up my stuff) and planning to use this guide: http://www.digitmemo.com/articles/6...tallation-and-windows-multi-boot-setup-guide/

    Don't know if i'm gunna follow it exact but I've got Tiger I think to install first, also got the patch and a USB drive so I'm gunna give it a go later on and come back with the results. If it doesnt work I'm just gunna overwrite Vista.

Share This Page