iOS 3.1 my tether has been... untethered?!?!

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by enzie, Dec 26, 2009.

  1. enzie

    enzie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    i was browsing packages on cydia and my device froze. remembering what I'd read about the tetherness of jailbreaking 3g ipods I'm thinking £%$*!!! ive just lost all my jailbreak stuff because ive got to restart the damn thing.

    now according to what i read if you turn off your ipod then the jailbreak is no more... well i turned it back on and everything is the same as how i left it?!

    can anyone shed light on this? its not really a problem id just like to know more...

    on ipod touch 3rd gen, FW v3.1.1...

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    What is the model number of your iPod touch.
  3. enzie

    enzie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    im assuming thats under general > about > model

    MC086BT

    please tell me im not missing something ridiculous here...
  4. kevin1st

    kevin1st Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,018
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    thats not untethered. you still had to open blackr1an right? you dont loose your jailbreak when you just plug in your ipod with the connect to itunes screen and hit make it rain.
  5. SilentWalker

    SilentWalker Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    ^ OP did not say anything about re-running blackra1n.

    @OP: Did you?
  6. enzie

    enzie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    yeah i made it ra1n again, but due to the fact that the 'connect to itunes' screen appeared, i freaked and when i plugged it into itunes it wanted me to recover device (to which i thought heeeeell no im not wiping this!!) i was under the impression that turning the device off was like hitting the jailbreak reset button.

    for future reference... if my 'pod crashes again i just do exactly what ive done and problem solved w/ no hassle and everything as it were?

    im a jailbreak virgin, so i do apologise for the n00bness...

    EDIT: should have really mentioned the re-ra1n before dont know why i didnt?!
  7. kevin1st

    kevin1st Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,018
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    i though he was confused. he said that when he turned it back on everything was how he left it. i might be misinterpreting but i think he thought a tethered jailbreak would reset your jailbreak upon using blackr1an to boot.
  8. _JKK_

    _JKK_ Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    Its tethered.

    Tethered is where your device has to be plugged into the computer, and you have to hit 'Make it ra1n' again to boot; if you don't, you must restore, or it will just sit on the 'Connect to iTunes' screen.
  9. enzie

    enzie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    @kevin1st: correct mate and thanks for the clarification!
    @JKKPhoto: now im one step wiser, thank you also
  10. _JKK_

    _JKK_ Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    No problem

Share This Page