My iPod's IP address changes!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Bibbi Bokken, Jun 20, 2008.

  1. Bibbi Bokken

    Bibbi Bokken New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know why, but my iPod touch's IP address changes sometimes.
    It has changed like five times since i bought it (last year in october). I still get my internet from the router at my house and its the same. Is this normal?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. The Baydestrian

    The Baydestrian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    27
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
  3. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    Yes it is normal
  4. Clownassasin

    Clownassasin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,546
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    im sure its normal cause it happens to me too, but no biggie
  5. Bibbi Bokken

    Bibbi Bokken New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. ZMOBtiger

    ZMOBtiger New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Yes, this is normal. At school, my ipod probably went through about 100 ip addresses. Your iPod is configured to DHCP by default and many routers won't reserve ip address for wireless connections. Don't worry.
  7. 48days

    48days Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Yeah the last number of you IP usually changes around from 0-4
  8. Danls92

    Danls92 Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    209
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    It depends on how many devices you have connected to the router. If you have 10 devices, it will range up to 10.

    Don't worry, this is completely normal, and if you want it to just have one, choose static IP.

    (BTW, moved to tech help)
  9. nachos1010

    nachos1010 New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    It happens to me sometimes too.
  10. mcdavid68

    mcdavid68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    how do you choose a static ip?



    EDIT:: nm.... my count somehow goes down Oo

Share This Page