iOS 3.1 My iPod Touch 2G Blackra1n Tutorial *Detail Specific* (Windows)

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by imranh101, Jan 2, 2010.

  1. imranh101

    imranh101 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    24
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    For Windows : If you have mac I cant help.

    Step One :
    Plug in your iPod. Let it do its thing. Wait till sync is complete (Says your iPod is done syncing, safe to disconnect)

    Step Two :
    Go here.
    http://blackra1n.com/
    Click the Windows symbol at the bottom (In case you don't know, the one that looks like a flag, left of the Apple)
    Save the file where ever you like.
    YOUR CHOICE.

    Step Three :
    While your iPod is connected, and it still says "Ipod is safe to disconnect"
    Double click on the new "blackrain.exe"
    Should bring up a small box that has one large button reading "Make it ra1n".
    Click it.
    Your ipod will reboot.

    Step Four :
    Go on your iPod and find new "Blackra1n" app.
    Run it.
    Choose Cydia and or Rock, and install them.

    Congratulations, you now have a jailbroken iPod.

    Now, should at any point you have ANY problems, feel free to post back here and I'll help you.

    This is a SAFE process, with a 0% Chance of failure, but in the IMPOSSIBLE CHANCE of FAIL, we are HERE!

    If you something went wrong, and your iPod won't turn on, which there is NO chance of happening, post back here, I have instructions ready to fix it.
    If you don't see the blackra1n icon on your iPod, just run the whole process over again.

    Good luck, and just do it. If you sit there cringing, nothing will happen.
    And remember, unless you physically SNAP your ipod, we WILL guide you through the repair.

    Again, if you need ANY help or have ANY questions, post back and I'll help!
  2. kingcoolryan

    kingcoolryan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    ahh there is a chance of something going wrong.
  3. aznjonny

    aznjonny Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Yupp there is... Such as my iPod >_<

    I just bought a new 2nd gen iPod touch 8gb and i followed your guide EXACTLY. The jailbreak does work, but after i install Winterboard, it asks me to restart my iPod. After i restart it, it doesn't boot up. Instead it just has a picture of the iTunes icon and a usb cable, basically telling me to plug it into iTunes. When I do plug it into iTunes, it wants me to restore =___= The only way i can actually boot it up is by running blackra1n again.

    It seems to me like my iPod is tethered, which doesn't make sense because it's a 2g , not a 3g!

    Any help?
    Thanks ;]
  4. exit1010

    exit1010 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4,812
    Likes Received:
    48
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    If you bought it recently It is considered a 3G. 3.1.2 is not untethered. So there you go. so. Wait till untethered is out ok?
  5. voLcoM¯

    voLcoM¯ New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Wait for the untethered for 3G.



    EDIT: sorry exit, didn't see your post.
  6. aznjonny

    aznjonny Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    But i am 99% positive that the "new" ipod touch 3g 's are only available in 32 and 64 gb. They completely took out the 16 gb and the 8gb is actually just a 2g.

    There is no 8gb iPod touch 3g.

    And yes, 3.1.2 is untethered. I know becuase i used blackra1n for my 1st Generation that's on 3.1.2
  7. Chamilism

    Chamilism New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    Where have you been. There is no 8gb iPod touch? Boy ya better do your homework. There is an iPod touch 8 gb 3rd gen. Search it google, search it here, go to the iPod touch 3rd gen section, go to the apple website ( late 2009). Unless your saying that it's not 3 Ed gen because apple doesn't call it 3g, so there isno 32 & 64 gb model. Also if we went with the 8gb is only 2g then would the 32gb be 2g?

    That 1% is right there is an 8gb 3g touch.
  8. aznjonny

    aznjonny Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    If that's so, why did my ipod touch "3rd gen" come without a microphone on the earbuds?
  9. Chamilism

    Chamilism New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    ...fail ? When in my post did I say an iPod Touch 3rd Gen comes with mic on earbuds? Just because the 32Gb and 64gb comes with microphones means all iPods that come with mic is an iPod Touch 3g? No. The way you tell if it's 3g is if you don't see (c) 2008 Apple.

    And you want to be more wrong here you go.
    iPod Touch 8GB 3G MC-model - Stuck at apple-screen
    Can I jailbreak a 3G 8b itouch?




    He said, viewed, doesn't mean it is.

    CLICK ME IF YOU WANT THE ULTIMATE PROOF THAT THERE IS INFACT AN 8GB iPOD TOUCH 3G (THE ONE YOU HAVE)

    Check Wikipeida:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPod_Touch#Models
  10. aznjonny

    aznjonny Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Okay haha, Thanks for taking the time and effort to help me understand

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    *thumbs up to you!*

Share This Page