My iPod is not an iPhone...aparrently?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Evostance, Jul 17, 2009.

  1. Evostance

    Evostance Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    14
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    Just plugged my iPod in and got this message..

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Wtf is that about?
    So now my iTunes doesn't detect my iPod..

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Attached Files:

    • huh.jpg
      huh.jpg
      File size:
      45.9 KB
      Views:
      149
  2. Shawa

    Shawa Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,188
    Likes Received:
    22
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    This happens to me occasionaly. Just unplug, then try again. If it fails to detect it, put it in Recovery Mode (put it in while holding home). Then restore it.
  3. wyndwarrior

    wyndwarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Try DFU+Restore on a Different computer.
  4. Evostance

    Evostance Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    14
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    *sigh* Restore it again? How lame..
  5. Shawa

    Shawa Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,188
    Likes Received:
    22
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    If that's what it takes, then you have to restore it.
  6. Evostance

    Evostance Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    14
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    True, but why does it think its an iPhone in the first place. I dont think i've ever had so many problems as I have with 3.0...

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. Dust

    Dust New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    yeah i guess youll have to restore

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    but think about the positive side, when you restore it probably all the problems will go away for 3.0!

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. Evostance

    Evostance Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    14
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    Fixed it by running redsn0w and rejailbreaking it lol
    No need to format

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  9. Universal Denizen

    Universal Denizen Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    ^ Good to hear that. Nice to know that a restore was not required. Will keep that in mind.
  10. touch_iPod

    touch_iPod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,023
    Likes Received:
    144
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (White)
    I also got this stupid message just now... After I pulled out the iPod, reset it + shut down iTunes at the same time, and then reconnect to the cable, everything was fine...

    But funnily, how come iTunes 8.2 detected our iPod touches as iPhones in this case?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page