My Already Jailbroken iTouch from October is now only showing that I have 2GB

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by lance713, Nov 23, 2007.

  1. lance713

    lance713 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an 8GB Touch I've jailbroken without problems.

    I just tried to sync it, and for some reason it only says I have 2GB free, and another 5GB is used up by "other"

    As of right now, I have no music, pictures, or videos on it... where is this 5GB coming from?

    Is there anyway to fix this without completely restoring it?

    The firmware is 1.1.1 btw.
  2. ben471

    ben471 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    2
    I wish I knew the answer since I have a very similar problem. I've got a 16gb and it says I've got 3gb of "other". I have a jailbroken 1.1.2. Hope someone can help us out.
  3. AlexRADL

    AlexRADL Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,816
    Likes Received:
    65
    Do you have a lot of GBA ROMs on gpSPhone, they take up a lot of space.
  4. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    Have you ever used SwapTunes? That'll do it.
  5. schnikelfritz576

    schnikelfritz576 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok i might have been off a few days but "Nov.20...dun dun dun!!!" no jk
  6. lance713

    lance713 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I don't have even have the GBA Emulator installed.

    Nor SwapTunes.

    It was fine yesterday... I haven't installed anything new or messed around with it in FTP in a long while.

    I tried to sync it to add some videos and then it said I didn't have enough free space. I'm like what? I have MORE than enough for this. Then I see that I only have 2GB free but yet all sycned content was gone.
  7. ben471

    ben471 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok I think I've figured out what is going on for me, lance713, you might have a different problem since you have no music, pics, vids, ect. I poked aroun in /Media and found that the /Photos directory had a little less in it than what iTunes says is my photos + other. I assume that the rest are apps, themes, ect. So, in iTunes it says I have 1.67 gb of photos, and thru winscp it says that I have 3.6gb. I guess that doesn't really bother me since I wanted to get rid of some photos anyway(I guess 2600 is too much

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    ). I will be interested to see what happens when I do remove some.....
  8. BCS321

    BCS321 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sometimes thats from half-copied movies that don't get to finish by suddenly disconnecting or connectivity problems. I've had this problem, when I copied large movies but they don't finish. It doesn't delete them and they don't show up under videos, they just sit there on the iPod as fragments.
  9. lance713

    lance713 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0

    I think this is exactly my problem.

    How do I remove the fragments without restoring + upgrading and then downgrading back to 1.1.1?

    If I can't do that, is there a way I can restore without updating to 1.1.2?

Share This Page