Multiple applications on ipod at same time?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by osmip, Aug 2, 2009.

  1. osmip

    osmip New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Can i like use IRC chat msn messenger and some other application open at same time bicouse when i open one aplication it automaticly disconect me from other one so i need to conect again and stuff.Is there a way to have more than 1 aplication open at a time and swich betwen them?Thank you
  2. xenorecor

    xenorecor New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    no. multi tasking is not an ipod/iphone's strong point.
  3. FrankSinatra

    FrankSinatra New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    No, there is not. You will have to manually press the home button and then touch the other app. It's not that hard, though.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    BTW, the only way you can do something like this is with Safari. There, you can have multiple web pages open.
  4. carfreak95

    carfreak95 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Yeah, because of the lack of ram. You need tons of ram to have multiple applications open and running at once.
  5. Awesome

    Awesome Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Yeah, but you can have iPod.app and another app open at the same time of course, but thats it. And the push notifications but that doesn't really count.
  6. Microsoft™

    Microsoft™ Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    If you are REALLY desperate then follow my instructions. There IS a warning, if you don't know what you are doing, DONT DO IT. This takes up a lot of battery life and ram. I highly recommend you don't do this.

    1. Open Cydia and install Backgrounder.
    2. Respring, Reboot, Respring.
    3. During an app, Lets say Real Racing, and you want to play Flight Control. Hold the home button in Real Racing and a message like "Backgrunding Enabled" will come. Let go of the home button and you will return to the home screen. However, you app is backgrounded.
    4. If you want to turn off backgrounding, either reboot or something OR Go back into the backgrounded app and hold home and a message that says "Backgrounding disabled" would come.
    5. You can also end the process in SBSettings.

    I recommend you don't do this though. The 2nd app would run terribly slow.
  7. ben

    ben Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    ^ Not necessarily. I use Backgrounder all the time with Palringo, Safari, AIM, Facebook. Just don't expect to be playing 2 RAM-heavy games.
  8. DarkWrath

    DarkWrath Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    does your IRC chat client support push?

Share This Page